ASTM E659 - 15

    Стандартный метод определения температуры самовозгорания химических веществ

    Active Standard ASTM E659 Developed by Subcommittee: E27.04

    Book of Standards Volume: 14.05


    Contact Jim S. Thomas for price quote.


    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More E27.04 Standards Related Products


    Significance and Use

    5.1 Самовозгорание, по самой своей природе, зависит от химических и физических свойств материала и от методов и оборудования, используемых для его определения. Температура самовозгорания, по данному методу, необязательно представляет минимальную температуру, при которой данный материал будет самовозгораться в воздухе. Объем используемого сосуда особенно важен, так как более низкие температуры самовозгорания достигаются в сосудах с большим объемом. (См. Приложение X2.) Материал, из которого изготовлен сосуд, также может являться важным фактором.

    5.2 Температуры, определяемые данным методом, это температуры, при которых окисление кислородом воздуха приводит к возгоранию. Можно ожидать, что эти температуры будут изменяться в зависимости от испытательного давления и концентрации кислорода.

    5.3 Данный метод не предназначен для оценки материалов, способных к экзотермическому разложению. Возгорание таких материалов зависит от термических и кинетических свойств разложения, массы пробы и коэффициента теплопередачи системы.

    5.4 Данный метод может применяться для твердых химических веществ, которые плавятся, испаряются или легко возгоняются при температуре испытаний. Никаких конденсатов, в жидкой или твердой фазе, не должно присутствовать при возгорании.

    5.5 Данный метод не предназначен для измерения температуры самовозгорания материалов, которые являются твердыми веществами или жидкостями при температуре испытаний (например, дерево, бумага, хлопчатобумажная ткань, пластмасса и химические вещества с высокой температурой кипения). Такие материалы будут подвергаться термической деструкции в колбе, и накопленные продукты деструкции могут возгореться.

    5.6 Данный метод испытаний можно использовать, с соответствующими изменениями, для химических веществ, которые являются газообразными при атмосферном давлении и температуре.

    5.7 Данный метод был разработан, главным образом, для жидких химических веществ, но применялся для испытаний легко испаряющихся твердых веществ. Ответственность за применение данного метода для твердых веществ с неизвестной термостойкостью, температурой кипения или характеристик деструкции возлагается на испытателя.

    1. Область применения

    1.1 Данный метод описывает определение температуры горячепламенного и холоднопламенного самовозгорания жидкого химического вещества в воздухе при атмосферном давлении в равномерно нагреваемом сосуде. ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 1 — При определенных ограничениях данный метод может также применяться для определения температуры самовозгорания твердых химикатов, которые легко плавятся и испаряются при температурах ниже температуры испытания, а также для химических веществ, которые являются газообразными при атмосферном давлении и температуре. ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 2 — После проведения исследования по круговой системе, Метод испытаний D2155 был отменен и в 1978 г. заменен на Метод испытаний E 659. Также см. Приложение X2.

    1.2 Настоящий стандарт может применяться для измерения и описания свойств материалов, изделий или сборочных узлов при нагревании и возгорании в контролируемых лабораторных условиях и не может применяться для описания и оценки опасности возникновения пожара или опасности возгорания материалов, изделий или сборочных узлов в условиях реального пожара. Однако результаты такого испытания могут использоваться как элементы оценки опасности возгорания, учитывающей все факторы, имеющие отношение к оценке опасности возникновения пожара при конкретном конечном использовании.

    2. Ссылочные документы

    D2155 Test Method for Determination of Fire Resistance of Aircraft Hydraulic Fluids by Autoignition Temperature

    D2883 Test Method for Reaction Threshold Temperature of Liquid and Solid Materials

    E659

ASTM E659 - 14

    Standard Test Method for Autoignition Temperature of Liquid Chemicals

    Active Standard ASTM E659 | Developed by Subcommittee: E27.04

    Book of Standards Volume: 14.02


    Buy Standard (PDF)
    7 pages
    $42.00
    Buy Standard (Print)
    7 pages
    $42.00
    Buy Standard + Redline (PDF)
    14 pages
    $50.40

    Historical (view previous versions of standard)


    ASTM E659

    Significance and Use

    5.1 Autoignition, by its very nature, is dependent on the chemical and physical properties of the material and the method and apparatus employed for its determination. The autoignition temperature by a given method does not necessarily represent the minimum temperature at which a given material will self-ignite in air. The volume of the vessel used is particularly important since lower autoignition temperatures will be achieved in larger vessels. (See Appendix X2.) Vessel material can also be an important factor.

    5.2 The temperatures determined by this test method are those at which air oxidation leads to ignition. These temperatures can be expected to vary with the test pressure and oxygen concentration.

    5.3 This test method is not designed for evaluating materials which are capable of exothermic decomposition. For such materials, ignition is dependent upon the thermal and kinetic properties of the decomposition, the mass of the sample, and the heat transfer characteristics of the system.

    5.4 This test method can be employed for solid chemicals which melt and vaporize or which readily sublime at the test temperature. No condensed phase, liquid or solid, should be present when ignition occurs.

    5.5 This test method is not designed to measure the autoignition temperature of materials which are solids or liquids at the test temperature (for example, wood, paper, cotton, plastics, and high-boiling point chemicals). Such materials will thermally degrade in the flask and the accumulated degradation products may ignite.

    5.6 This test method can be used, with appropriate modifications, for chemicals that are gaseous at atmospheric temperature and pressure.

    5.7 This test method was developed primarily for liquid chemicals but has been employed to test readily vaporized solids. Responsibility for extension of this test method to solids of unknown thermal stability, boiling point, or degradation characteristics rests with the operator.

    1. Scope

    1.1 This test method covers the determination of hot- and cool-flame autoignition temperatures of a liquid chemical in air at atmospheric pressure in a uniformly heated vessel.

    Note 1Within certain limitations, this test method can also be used to determine the autoignition temperature of solid chemicals which readily melt and vaporize at temperatures below the test temperature and for chemicals that are gaseous at atmospheric pressure and temperature.
    Note 2After a round robin study, Test Method D2155 was discontinued, and replaced by Test Method E659 in 1978. See also Appendix X2.

    1.2 This standard should be used to measure and describe the properties of materials, products, or assemblies in response to heat and flame under controlled laboratory conditions and should not be used to describe or appraise the fire hazard or fire risk of materials, products, or assemblies under actual fire conditions. However, results of this test may be used as elements of a fire risk assessment which takes into account all of the factors which are pertinent to an assessment of the fire hazard of a particular end use.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D2155 Test Method for Determination of Fire Resistance of Aircraft Hydraulic Fluids by Autoignition Temperature

    D2883 Test Method for Reaction Threshold Temperature of Liquid and Solid Materials

    E659


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 71.080.01 (Organic chemicals in general)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code


    DOI: 10.1520/E0659

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    ASTM E659

    Citing ASTM Standards
    Back to Top