Society Awards

Staff Contact: Maryann Zamorski Phone: 610-832-9684

ASTM International Society Awards are created by the ASTM International Board of Directors to meet specific recognition needs which have broad applications to the overall Society and therefore cannot be addressed by individual technical committees. A list and description of all ASTM International Society Awards follows.

The Award of Merit was established in 1949 by the ASTM International Board of Directors and is the highest society award granted to an individual member for distinguished service and outstanding participation in ASTM International committee activities. Recipients also receive the honorary title of Fellow.

Award of Merit Guidelines PDF

The W.T. Cavanaugh Memorial Award is granted to a person of widely recognized eminence in the voluntary standards system who may or may not be a member of ASTM International. The title of Honorary Member is bestowed upon recipients of the award. No more than two award recipients shall be named in a calendar year. This award, established in 1987, honors W. T. Cavanaugh who firmly established ASTM International as the world leader in the development and dissemination of voluntary consensus standards during his service as Chief Executive Officer from 1970 until his death in 1985.

W.T. Cavanaugh Memorial Award Guidelines PDF

Established in 1925 by ASTM International in commemoration of the Society's first President, Charles B. Dudley, in order to stimulate research leading to standardization, extend knowledge in a specific field of interest to the Society, and recognize meritorious contributions to the publications of the Society.

Charles B. Dudley Medal Award Guidelines PDF

The Award for the Outstanding Article in the Journal of Testing and Evaluation (JOTE) is presented not more frequently than once a year to the author(s) of an outstanding full-length paper (research, application, review, interlaboratory report, test procedure, or case study) published in JOTE during the previous calendar year. Each author is recognized by the Society's Committee on Publications (COP) for making a significant contribution toward a particular field of interest to ASTM International. Established in 1988, the award is intended to stimulate interest in the Journal's objectives, enhance the overall quality of the papers submitted to the Journal, and recognize exceptional contributions.

Journal of Testing and Evaluation Award Guidelines PDF

An award for meritorious service which recognizes work done by ASTM International members in promoting the use of standards. It is presented to the member responsible for the most outstanding contribution in a given year in the field of standardization, and highlights special attention via a newly organized activity, company program, or educational research.

Robert J. Painter Memorial Award Guidelines PDF

The James A. Thomas President’s Leadership Award was established by the ASTM Board of Directors in 2007 to recognize extraordinary leadership within the first five years of an individual’s association with ASTM International.

James A. Thomas President’s Leadership Award Guidelines PDF

An award presented to an engineer or scientist, inside or outside the Society, who has contributed notably to the knowledge in the field of building technology, with emphasis upon materials used which constitute significant advances or innovations. The award was established in 1962 and is administered by a special Voss Award Committee.

Walter C. Voss Award Guidelines PDF

The award, established in 2019, honors Werner H. Gumpertz, a Fellow and 57-year member of ASTM, former Chair of Committee D08 on Roofing and Waterproofing, and member of four other ASTM committees. In addition to his distinguished service to ASTM, Mr. Gumpertz was a member of numerous other professional organizations dedicated to topics including concrete, masonry, fire protection, and thermal efficiency. This award may be presented to one individual annually. A submitted nomination is not guaranteed to receive the award. There is no expectation that the award will be given every year.

Werner H. Gumpertz Award Guidelines PDF