Committee E54 on Homeland Security Applications

Staff Manager: Kevin Shanahan

ASTM Committee E54 on Homeland Security Applications was formed in 2003. E54 meets twice each year, in January and June, with about 100 members attending three days of technical meetings. This Committee addresses issues related to standards and guidance materials for homeland security applications with specific focus on infrastructure protection, decontamination, security controls, threat and vulnerability assessment, and CBRNE sensors and detectors. It also is charged with the coordination of existing standardization (ASTM generated as well as external) related to homeland security needs. The Committee, with a membership of 361, currently has its standards published in the Annual Book of ASTM Standards, Volume 15.08. E54 has 9 technical subcommittees that maintain jurisdiction over these standards. Information on this subcommittee structure and E54's portfolio of approved standards and Work Items under construction are available from the List of Subcommittees, Standards and Work Items below.