Committee A06 on Magnetic Properties

Staff Manager: Kelly Paul

ASTM Committee A06 on Magnetic Properties was formed in 1903. The Committee meets twice a year, at the May and November Committee Weeks, with approximately 10 members attending 1 & 1/2 days of technical meetings. The Committee, with a current membership of 50, has jurisdiction of 53 standards published in the Annual Book of ASTM Standards, Volume 03.07. Committee A06 develops standards dealing with magnetic materials and test methods for determining magnetic properties. A06 has 5 technical subcommittees that maintain jurisdiction over their standards. Information on this subcommittee structure and A06's portfolio of approved standards and Work Items under development are available from the List of Subcommittees and Standards. Specifically, A06 develops test methods for determining the magnetic properties of electrical steels and other soft magnetic metallic alloys, soft ferrites and permanent magnet materials, in conjunction with materials specifications for these materials. The Committee has recently published a comprehensive set of permanent magnet material specifications. Task groups routinely monitor the need for new methods and specifications in a variety of areas. One area of current interest is additive manufacturing. Finally, members of this Committee actively participate on the TAG for IEC TC68 on Magnetic alloys and steels.