Committee E42 on Surface Analysis

Staff Manager: Brian Milewski

ASTM Committee E42 on Surface Analysis was formed in 1976. E42 meets twice a year, usually in June and October prior to the annual AVS/ASSD meeting on Surface Analysis or the International AVS Symposium, with approximately 20 members attending the one-day technical meetings. The Committee, with a current membership of 65, has jurisdiction of more than 22 standards, published in the Annual Book of ASTM Standards, Volume 03.06. E42 has 9 technical subcommittees that maintain jurisdiction over these standards. These standards have and continue to play a preeminent role in all aspects of surface analysis, including Auger electron spectroscopy (AES), X-ray or ultraviolet induced electron emission spectroscopy (XPS/UPS), ion beam sputtering, scanning ion microbeam [space] mass analysis and ion microscopy (SIMS), and scanning tunneling and atomic force microscopy (STM/AFM). E42 members have developed the concepts and approaches that have helped significantly improve quantitative surface analysis over the past 25 years.