Committee D16 on Aromatic, Industrial, Specialty and Related Chemicals

Staff Manager: Stephen Mawn

ASTM Committee D16 on Aromatic, Industrial, Specialty, and Related Chemicals was formed in 1944. D16 meets twice a year, in January and June, with approximately 40 members attending two and one half days of technical meetings and presentations on relevant topics in the industry. Technical presentations have included Technology of p-Xylene, Cumene, Phenol and Bisphenol-A, Gas Chromatography, and Calorimetry. The Committee, with a current membership of 181 members, has jurisdiction of 136 standards including test methods, material specifications and practices, published in March in the Annual Book of ASTM Standards, Volume 06.04. D16 has 7 technical subcommittees that maintain jurisdiction over these standards. Information on this subcommittee structure and D16's portfolio of approved standards and Work Items under development are available from the List of Subcommittees and Standards. These standards play a preeminent role in all aspects important to aromatic hydrocarbons, their derivatives, and related chemicals.