Committee E42 on Surface Analysis

    Staff Manager: Brian Milewski 610-832-9619

    Committee Scope

    * Review and coordination of the development of standards for all methods of surface analysis by photon, electron, and ion emission or reflection methods. Typical methods include: Auger electron spectroscopy (AES); X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS or ESCA); ion-scattering spectroscopy (ISS); secondary ion mass spectroscopy (SIMS); Rutherford backscattering spectroscopy (RBS); and the use of ion bombardment and other methods to obtain composition versus depth information.
    * Preparation of standard practices for the methods included in Article 2.1.1.
    * Establishment of standard definitions of terms relating to methods included in Article 2.1.1.
    * Cooperation with agencies concerned with preparation and distribution of standard reference materials.
    * Advancement of the field of surface analysis by promoting the collection of exchange of information through surveys, cooperative programs, publication of suggested methods and practices, meeting, and symposia.
    * The formulation and evaluation of standard surface analysis methods shall be confined to those methods not included in the scope of other ASTM Committees, except by mutual agreement.
    * Maintenance of a current appraisal of new and developing surface analysis techniques, as to their principles, applicability, and limitations.
    * These activities will be coordinated with other ASTM Committees and other organizations having mutual interests.