News Releases

Frank Heymann Honored with Brautigam Award from ASTM International


ASTM International Committee G02 on Wear and Erosion recently honored Frank Heymann, of Brunswick, Maine, with the 2007 Frank C. Brautigam Award. The award recognizes outstanding and effective work in developing new ASTM International standards, as exemplified by Frank C. Brautigam, who was chairman of a task group on abrasive wear from 1975 to 1986.
Involved with ASTM International since 1963, Heymann is an ASTM fellow and Award of Merit winner, and he has also received the Charles B. Dudley Medal Award given for meritorious contributions to the publications of the Society. He was also a member of the "steering committee" that led to the establishment of ASTM Committee G02 in 1964. In addition to ASTM International, Heymann is a member of the American Society for Mechanical Engineers.
In his career as a mechanical engineer for the Power Generation Division of Westinghouse Electric Corp., Heymann worked mainly on development, design and testing related to steam turbines. He joined Westinghouse in 1954 in Lester, Pa., and later moved with the division to Orlando, Fla.  He retired in 1990. He has remained active in ASTM International, among other volunteer activities.  Prior to joining Westinghouse he had been a research assistant at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, Mass.
Heymann attended elementary school in Prague, Czechoslovakia, and secondary schools in England before immigrating to the USA in 1946. He holds a B.M.E. in mechanical engineering from the City College of New York in New York City and an S.M. in mechanical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.


Release #7783

October 1, 2007

Search News Releases

Advanced Search