News Releases

ASTM International Founding Committee Award Honors Phillip A. Speer


Metallurgical consultant Phillip A. Speer has received the Founding Committee Award, which recognizes distinguished service to ASTM International Committee A01 on Steel, Stainless Steel, and Related Alloys. A01 cited Speer for his leadership and contributions to the committee in the development and promotion of voluntary consensus standards.

Speer lives in Hobart, Ind.

An ASTM fellow and Award of Merit recipient who has been involved with the organization since the mid-1960s, Speer is chairman of Subcommittee A01.02 Structural Steel for Bridges, Buildings, Rolling Stock and Ships, and secretary of A01.95, USA Committee for International Standardization of Steel. In addition to serving on several A01 groups, Speer works on Committee A05 on Metallic-Coated Iron and Steel Products.

In the international standardization arena, Speer leads the U.S. delegation and heads the U.S. Technical Advisory Group for Subcommittee 3 on Steels for Structural Purposes in Technical Committee 17 on Steel of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), and is secretary of the U.S. secretariat for ISO/TC 17/SC 12 on continuous mill flat rolled products.

Speer has also been a member of the American Petroleum Institute Tubular Committee, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the Iron and Steel Executive Committee of the Society of Automotive Engineers.

Professionally, Speer focuses on steel mill metallurgical practices and customer technical assistance as well as steel specification standardization. Before he began his consultancy, Speer held various management and executive positions at Inland Steel Co.

A graduate of Purdue University in West Lafayette, Ind., with a bachelor's degree in metallurgical engineering, Speer earned his M.B.A. from the University of Chicago.


Release #7659

April 1, 2007

Search News Releases

Advanced Search