News Releases

ASTM International’s Committee on Vehicle-Pavement Systems Honors Dr. George Chang with Billard-Stubstad Award


ASTM International’s committee on vehicle-pavement systems (E17) has presented Dr. George Chang, PE, director of research, Transtec Group, in Austin, Texas, USA, with the Billard-Stubstad Award.

The E17 committee recognized Dr. Chang for his many years of exemplary technical, practical, and administrative contributions to the pavement engineering community through the standard development efforts. An ASTM member since 2005, he has also received the H.W. Kummer Lecture Award in 2007, and the Meyer-Horne Outstanding Achievement Award in 2010. He is currently membership secretary of committee E17, sub-chairman of subcommittee E17.31 on methods for measuring profiles and roughness, and sub membership secretary of executive subcommittee E17.90.

Dr. Chang received his bachelor’s degree in agricultural engineering from National Taiwan University, in Taipei, Taiwan in 1986, and his master’s degree in environmental engineering in 1991, and his Ph.D. in civil engineering in 1996, from the New Jersey Institute of Technology, in Newark, New Jersey.

Aside from ASTM, Dr. Chang is the president of the International Intelligent Construction Technologies Group, and a member of Association of Asphalt Paving Technologists, Transportation Research Board, and Road Profile Users’ Group Steering Committee.

Media Inquiries: Dan Bergels, tel+1.610.832.9602;

Release #10353

July 6, 2017

Search News Releases

Advanced Search