News Releases

Anthony E. Fiorato Honored with ASTM Katharine and Bryant Mather Award


Anthony E. Fiorato, Ph.D., senior consultant, CTLGroup in Skokie, Ill., has been honored with the 2007 Katharine and Bryant Mather Award for outstanding contributions in performing administrative and managerial duties in an exceptional manner that enhances the status of concrete technology as a discipline.
ASTM International Committee C09 on Concrete and Concrete Aggregates administers the Katharine and Bryant Mather Award and presents it not more than once every two years.
A former chairman of the ASTM International board of directors, Fiorato serves on Committees C01 on Cement and C09, and leads Subcommittee C09.61 on Testing for Strength and the executive committee of the Cement and Concrete Reference Laboratory (C01.96/C09.96). He joined ASTM International in 1980 and became a member of the ASTM board in 2001.
Before becoming a senior consultant to the CTLGroup, Fiorato was president and chief executive officer of the firm, which provides engineering and scientific services to the construction and related industries. In that position, he held responsibility for overall management of CTL?s consulting, testing and research services. Fiorato is currently chairman of the CTLGroup board of directors. He had previously been vice president of research and technical services for the Portland Cement Association, which he joined in 1973 as a structural engineer.
In addition to ASTM International, Fiorato is a fellow, a member of the board, and past president of the American Concrete Institute, where he works on the ACI Financial Advisory Committee, the ACI Committee 318 Structural Concrete Building Code and the Board Advisory Committee on the International Organization for Standardization?s Technical Committee 71 on Concrete, Reinforced Concrete and Prestressed Concrete. He also is a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, the National Ready Mixed Concrete Association (NRMCA) Research and Engineering Standards Committee, the Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute and the Post-Tensioning Institute.
Fiorato received ACI's Henry L. Kennedy Award in 2002 and the Henry C. Turner Medal in 1997, and the A. J. Boase Award from the Reinforced Concrete Research Council in 1999. He also received a University of Illinois Civil and Environmental Engineering Alumni Association Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2004 and the NRMCA Richard D. Gaynor Award in 2007.
A graduate of Drexel University with a B.S. in civil engineering, Fiorato holds M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in civil engineering from the University of Illinois. He is a licensed structural engineer in Illinois and professional engineer in Arizona, Michigan and Ohio.


Release #7811

November 1, 2007

Search News Releases

Advanced Search