News Releases

American Herbal Products Association and ASTM International Sign MOU on Cannabis Standards


Today, global standards organization ASTM International and the American Herbal Products Association announced a Memorandum of Understanding to work together on standards for the cannabis industry.  The news comes in advance of the first meeting of ASTM International’s new cannabis committee, June 11 and 12.

The meeting is part of a larger “committee week” event with about 25 committees and 1,500 attendees at the Sheraton Centre Toronto in Ontario, Canada.

Under the agreement, ASTM International will coordinate standards development activities for the cannabis industry while AHPA will gain benefits such as recognition of its technical contributions and regulatory recommendations.

“Many of our stakeholders – manufacturers, dispensaries, labs, consultants, and others – have laid the groundwork for guidance on the safe use and legal commerce of cannabis,” said Jane Wilson, director of program development at AHPA. “We are thrilled to now be contributing to standards development through one of the world’s top standards organizations.”
“AHPA has provided and will continue to provide much-needed expertise in this fast-growing industry,” said Ralph Paroli, Ph.D., the committee’s new chairman and the director of R&D in measurement science and standards at the National Research Council of Canada. “AHPA’s support for this new committee will help expedite international standards development, identify gaps, prevent duplicative efforts, and more.”

Paroli and others are featured in a brief video about the new committee.

In addition, through a license agreement, the new committee’s standards will note when AHPA contributed technical expertise or content from one of its “Recommendations for Regulators.”

Over the past year, after a growing number of requests from industry, the committee on cannabis (designated D37 by ASTM International) formally organized. The group has grown to about 200 members, including businesses, laboratories, associations, governments, and others.  Anyone interested in participating can contact

Next Meeting of Committee on Cannabis (D37): June 11-12, Sheraton Centre Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Media Inquiries: Nathan Osburn, tel +1.610.832.9603; 
Committee Contact: Christine DeJong, tel +1.610.832.9736;

Release #10336

June 8, 2017

Search News Releases

Advanced Search