

James T. Weston

President-Elect, American Academy of Forensic Sciences

James T. Weston, M.D., Chief Medical Investigator, State of New Mexico, has been named president-elect of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences.

Announcement of the election results, held recently at the Academy's 27th Annual Meeting in Chicago, was made by Robert J. Joling of Tucson, Arizona, president of the Academy.

Irwin N. Perr, M.D., J.D., professor of psychiatry and professor of community medicine, Rutgers Medical School and Kurt M. Dubowski, Ph.D., professor of biochemistry, clinical chemistry and toxicology, University of Oklahoma School of Medicine, were elected vice presidents of the Academy.

Professor Andre A. Moenssens, T. C. Williams School of Law, University of Richmond, was elected secretary-treasurer.

A graduate of Cornell University and Cornell University Medical College, Dr. Weston served the past four successive terms as the Academy's secretary-treasurer. In addition to his present position as Chief Medical Investigator, he is also professor of pathology, University of New Mexico College of Medicine in Albuquerque.

He holds the rank of Captain, Medical Corps, U.S. Naval Reserve and formerly served as Chief Medical Examiner, State of Utah and as chairman of the Division of Forensic and Environmental Pathology, University of Utah Medical College.

Dr. Weston is currently a consultant and a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology, a member of the Committee on Training in Forensic Pathology of the National Research Council, a member of the Board of Trustees and a founder of the Forensic Sciences Foundation, and a member of the Joint Advisory Committee, National Institute of Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Project "Assessment of the Forensic Sciences Profession."

Dr. Weston will succeed to the presidency of the Academy at the close of its 28th Annual Meeting, which will be held at the Statler-Hilton, Washington, D.C., 17-20 Feb. 1976.