News Releases

Professor Michael Preuss Honored by ASTM International Reactive and Refractory Metals and Alloys Committee


Michael Preuss, professor of metallurgy, University of Manchester, Manchester, UK, was honored with the William J. Kroll Medal by ASTM International’s reactive and refractory metals and alloys committee (B10). 

Preuss was honored for establishing and developing the Zirconium Technology Group at the University of Manchester, UK and his research leadership in mechanistic understanding of irradiation damage in zirconium alloys and their oxides.

Preuss has been a professor at University of Manchester since 2010 and has since taken on the role of deputy director for the Rolls-Royce Nuclear University Technology Centre. He is also the lead of materials systems for demanding environment theme within the Sir Henry Royce Institute for Materials Innovation and the director of the MIDAS Program (Mechanistic understanding of Irradiation Damage in fuel Assemblies) at University of Manchester.

Preuss holds an engineer’s degree in materials science from Technical University Berlin and a doctorate in materials science from Technical University Hamburg-Harburg. 


Media Inquiries: Dan Bergels, tel +1.610.832.9602; 

Release #10810

June 6, 2019

Search News Releases

Advanced Search