News Releases

Key ASTM International Committee’s Top Annual Award Presented to Kevin Rapp


ASTM International’s committee on electrical insulating liquids and gases (D27) presented its top annual award – the Award of Merit – to Kevin Rapp of Cargill Inc., Plymouth, Maine, USA. The prestigious award, which includes the accompanying title of fellow, is ASTM’s highest recognition for individual contributions to developing standards.  

Rapp was recognized for his outstanding contributions and leadership in developing standards related to insulating liquids and gases for the electric power industry and electrical and electronic insulating materials throughout multiple ASTM committees.  

A member of ASTM since 2008, Rapp has also received the Service Award in 2015 by the committee. He is also a member of the ASTM committee on electrical and electronic insulating materials (D09). 

Rapp, the principal chemist – Cargill Inc., has been in his position since 2012, having previously worked at Cooper Power Systems, McGraw Edison, Corp., and Milwaukee Metro Sewage Commission. He studied analytical chemistry at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee from 1973-1977 and received a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from University of Wisconsin – Parkside in 2003.  

In addition to ASTM International, Rapp is also a member of the American Chemical Society, International Electrical and Electronic Engineers, the American Society of Oil Chemists, International Electrotechnical Commission, American Society for Testing Materials, and the CIGRE-International Council on Large Electric Systems.

Media Inquiries: Dan Bergels, tel +1.610.832.9602; 

Release #10563

May 31, 2018

Search News Releases

Advanced Search