News Releases

ASTM International Security Systems and Equipment Committee Presents Top Annual Award to Dean Alberson


ASTM International’s committee on security systems and equipment (F12) presented its top annual award – the Award of Merit – to Dr. Dean Alberson of Bulwark Design Innovations, LLC, in Bryan, Texas, USA. The prestigious award, which includes the accompanying title of fellow, is ASTM’s highest recognition for individual contributions to developing standards.  

The committee honored Alberson for meritorious service, leading to improved methods to test perimeter barriers and active entry barriers that preclude penetration from moving vehicle threats. Alberson has been a member of ASTM International since 2003 and is also a member of the committee on fences (F14).  

Alberson, owner and research engineer of Bulwark Design Innovations, LLC, has previously held positions with Evans & Associates, Safety Quest, Inc., and the Texas A&M Transportation Institute. He holds a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering and a master’s degree in civil engineering structures from New Mexico State University, and a doctorate degree in civil engineering structures from Texas A&M University.   

In addition to ASTM International, Alberson is a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, Tau Beta Pi, Chi Epsilon, and the Transportation Research Board Committee AFB20.

Media Inquiries: Dan Bergels, tel+1.610.832.9602; 



Release #10531

April 19, 2018

Search News Releases

Advanced Search