News Releases

ASTM International Committee on Unmanned Aircraft Systems Honors Ted Wierzbanowski


Theodore “Ted” J. Wierzbanowski, retired, of Punta Gorda, Florida, USA, was honored with the Laurence R. “Nuke” Newcome Award from ASTM International’s committee on unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) (F38).  

Wierzbanowski, who joined ASTM International in 2010, was recognized for his distinguished contributions to the advancement of UAS in civil aviation. He has previously been honored with the Award of Appreciation. 

Wierzbanowski, a retired United States Air Force Colonel and experimental test pilot, previously served as a director of AeroVironment, Inc. He currently serves as the chairman of the ASTM F38 committee on UAS standards. He holds a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the United States Air Force Academy and a master’s degree in systems management from the University of Southern California.

In addition to ASTM International, Wierzbanowski is a member of the Society of Experimental Test Pilots, the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, and the Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International.

About ASTM International

Committed to serving global societal needs, ASTM International positively impacts public health and safety, consumer confidence, and overall quality of life. We integrate consensus standards – developed with our international membership of volunteer technical experts – and innovate services to improve lives… Helping our world work better. 


Media Inquiries: Dan Bergels, tel +1.610.832.9602; 

Release #10470

January 11, 2018

Search News Releases

Advanced Search