News Releases

ASTM International Awards $10,000 Scholarships to Four Graduate Students


ASTM International announced today that four graduate students each won $10,000 scholarships for their studies in fields where technical standards play a crucial role. This year’s winners were chosen from a competitive pool of more than 30 applications.

The following candidates will receive the 2020 ASTM International graduate scholarships:

  • Somnath Mandal of the University of Alabama, Birmingham, is an active user and contributor to ASTM International’s refractories committee (C08). He is a doctoral candidate studying materials engineering.
  • Patrick McDavid, who also received the award in 2017, is an active member of the packaging committee (D10) and the primary barrier packaging committee (F02). He is a doctoral candidate at Michigan State University as well as a teacher on packaging. 
  • Jennifer Law is a doctoral student at the University of Missouri currently studying human environmental sciences. She is a member of the commercial spaceflight committee (F47) as well as the exoskeleton and exosuit committee (F48)
  • Tyler Kleinsasser is a student member working towards a master’s at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. He is interested in a career in civil engineering and experience with standards under the committee on concrete and concrete aggregates (C09).

ASTM International has about 5,000 student members at all levels of education who pay nothing for membership. The organization offers several scholarship and grant opportunities each year. Undergraduate and graduate student members receive a front-row seat to the standards development process, allowing them to network with technical experts and participate in standards discussion.

For more information on the free student membership and academic outreach activities, visit or contact Travis Murdock (tel +1.610.832.9826;

Release #11075


August 24, 2020

Search News Releases

Advanced Search