News Releases

ASTM Committee on Soil and Rock Honors Authors with Hogentogler Award


 Special Presentation in January Marked Award’s 60th Anniversary

ASTM International Committee D18 on Soil and Rock awarded the 2014 C.A. Hogentogler Award to the authors of the technical paper, New Approach to Resonant Column Testing, which appeared in the ASTM Geotechnical Journal in 2013.

The Hogentogler Award recognizes the author or authors of outstanding ASTM-published papers on soil and/or rock for engineering. It honors Chester Allen Hogentogler, a senior highway engineer for the Bureau of Public Roads who is credited with the initiation of ASTM Committee D18 in the 1930’s. The award was established in 1954.

Members of Hogentogler’s family, including Martha Hogentogler Nolan, were in attendance for the presentation of the award at the ASTM January Committee Week in New Orleans, Louisiana. The authors and award recipients were:

- Carolyn T. Conlee, lab engineer, Geocomp, Acton, Massachusetts;

- Vincent P. Drnevich, professor emeritus, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana, an ASTM fellow and honorary Committee D18 member who joined ASTM in 1968;

- John R. Hall Jr., professor, civil engineering and mechanical engineering departments, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Worcester, Massachusetts, and an ASTM member since 1987 who served on Committee E05 on Fire Standards;

- Chafik Hankour, design engineer, Geocomp, Acton, Massachusetts;

- W. Allen Marr, president and CEO, Geocomp, Acton, Massachusetts, and an ASTM member since 1983; and

- Salim K. Werden, senior systems engineer, Geocomp, Acton, Massachusetts.

Learn more about the ASTM Geotechnical Testing Journal. To purchase technical papers or journals, contact ASTM Customer Relations (tel +1.877.909.ASTM;

ASTM PR Contact: Erin K. Brennan, tel: +1.610.832.9602;

Release #9795                          



March 16, 2015

Search News Releases

Advanced Search