ASTM D4530 - 11

    Стандартный метод испытаний по определению углеродных остатков в нефтепродуктах (микрометод)

    Active Standard ASTM D4530 Developed by Subcommittee: D02.06

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.02


    Contact Jim S. Thomas for price quote.


    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D02.06 Standards Related Products


    1. Область применения

    1.1 Настоящий метод испытаний относится к определению количества углеродных остатков (см. прим. 1), образующихся после испарения и пиролиза нефтепродуктов при некоторых условиях и предназначен для получения определенных признаков, указывающих на относительную склонность к коксованию этих материалов.

    1.2 Результаты испытаний эквивалентны аналогичным для метода Конрадсона по определению углеродных остатков (см. Метод испытаний D 189).

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 1 ― Процедура проведения данных испытаний и аппаратура является модификацией процедур и аппаратуры первоначального способа определения углеродных остатков в нефтепродуктах, в котором было продемонстрировано, что метод термогравиметрии также является пригодным. Однако именно оператор устанавливает условия испытаний, с целью получения эквивалентных результатов при применении термогравиметрии.

    1.3 Данный метод испытаний применим к нефтепродуктам, которые частично разлагаются при перегонке при атмосферном давлении. Метод проверен для значений содержания углеродных остатков от 0,10 до 30% (массовая доля). Пробы с ожидаемым содержанием остатков величиной менее 0,10% (массовая доля), должны перегоняться с целью удаления 90% (объемная доля) содержимого сосуда (см. раздел 9). Затем, остаток величиной 10% подвергается испытаниям на содержание углерода с применением настоящего метода.

    1.4 Компоненты, образующие золу, согласно Методу испытаний D 482 или нелетучие компоненты, существующие в пробе, добавляются к углеродным остаткам и считаются частью общего углеродного остатка, значение которого приводится в протоколе испытаний.

    1.5 В дизельном топливе присутствие алкильных нитратов, таких, как амиловый нитрат, гексиловый нитрат, октиловый нитрат, дает повышенное значение содержания углеродных остатков по сравнению с неочищенным топливом, что может привести к неверному заключению по склонности топлива к коксованию. Присутствие алкильных нитратов в топливе может быть обнаружено с помощью Метода испытаний D 4046.

    1.6 Значения, приведенные в единицах СИ, должны рассматриваться как стандартные. Никакие другие единицы измерения не включены в данный стандарт.

    1.6.1 Исключение – 6.4 и 6.5 включают дюйм-фунты.

    1.7 ПРЕДУПРЕЖДЕНИЕ – Многими контролирующими органами ртуть была названа опасным веществом, которое может вызвать повреждение центральной нервной системы, почек и печени. Ртуть или ее пары могут быть опасны для здоровья и агрессивны для материалов. Следует проявлять осторожность при обработке ртути и продукции, содержащей ртуть. Подробнее см. Лист данных по безопасности материалов (MSDS) и дополнительную информацию на сайте EPA – http://www.epa.gov/mercury/faq.htm. Пользователи должны быть осведомлены, что продажа ртути и/или продукции содержащей ртуть может быть запрещена законом в вашем штате или стране.

    1.8 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности и мер по охране здоровья, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта. См. 8.2.3 и 8.4 по поводу отдельных предупреждений.

    2. Ссылочные документы

    D189 Test Method for Conradson Carbon Residue of Petroleum Products

    D4046 Test Method for Alkyl Nitrate in Diesel Fuels by Spectrophotometry

    D4057 Practice for Manual Sampling of Petroleum and Petroleum Products

    D4177 Practice for Automatic Sampling of Petroleum and Petroleum Products

    D482 Test Method for Ash from Petroleum Products

    E1 Specification for ASTM Liquid-in-Glass Thermometers

    E133 Specification for Distillation Equipment


    Ключевые слова

    углеродный остаток; углеродный остаток (микрометод); дизельное топливо; смазочное масло; нефтепродукты

ASTM D4530 - 15(2020)

    Standard Test Method for Determination of Carbon Residue (Micro Method)

    Active Standard ASTM D4530 | Developed by Subcommittee: D02.06

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.02


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 7 $50.00   ADD TO CART
    Hardcopy (shipping and handling) 7 $50.00   ADD TO CART
    Online TrainingTraining  



    Significance and Use

    5.1 The carbon residue value of the various petroleum materials serves as an approximation of the tendency of the material to form carbonaceous type deposits under degradation conditions similar to those used in the test method, and can be useful as a guide in manufacture of certain stocks. However, care needs to be exercised in interpreting the results.

    5.2 This test method offers advantages of better control of test conditions, smaller samples, and less operator attention compared to Test Method D189, to which it is equivalent.

    5.3 Up to twelve samples may be run simultaneously, including a control sample when the vial holder shown in Fig. 1 is used exclusively for sample analysis.

    FIG. 1 Sample Vial Holder and Vial

     Sample Vial Holder and Vial Sample Vial Holder and Vial

    1. Scope

    1.1 This test method covers the determination of the amount of carbon residue (see Note 1) formed after evaporation and pyrolysis of petroleum materials under certain conditions and is intended to provide some indication of the relative coke forming tendency of such materials.

    1.2 The test results are equivalent to the Conradson Carbon Residue test (see Test Method D189).

    Note 1: This procedure is a modification of the original method and apparatus for carbon residue of petroleum materials, where it has been demonstrated that thermogravimetry is another applicable technique.2 However, it is the responsibility of the operator to establish operating conditions to obtain equivalent results when using thermogravimetry.

    1.3 This test method is applicable to petroleum products that partially decompose on distillation at atmospheric pressure and was tested for carbon residue values of 0.10 % to 30 % (m/m). Samples expected to be below 0.10 weight % (m/m) residue should be distilled to remove 90 % (V/V) of the flask charge (see Section 9). The 10 % bottoms remaining is then tested for carbon residue by this test method.

    1.4 Ash-forming constituents, as defined by Test Method D482, or non-volatile additives present in the sample will add to the carbon residue value and be included as part of the total carbon residue value reported.

    1.5 Also in diesel fuel, the presence of alkyl nitrates, such as amyl nitrate, hexyl nitrate, or octyl nitrate, causes a higher carbon residue value than observed in untreated fuel, which may lead to erroneous conclusions as to the coke-forming propensity of the fuel. The presence of alkyl nitrate in the fuel may be detected by Test Method D4046.

    1.6 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as standard. No other units of measurement are included in this standard.

    1.6.1 Exception—6.4 and 6.5 include inch-pound units.

    1.7 WARNING—Mercury has been designated by many regulatory agencies as a hazardous substance that can cause serious medical issues. Mercury, or its vapor, has been demonstrated to be hazardous to health and corrosive to materials. Use Caution when handling mercury and mercury-containing products. See the applicable product Safety Data Sheet (SDS) for additional information. The potential exists that selling mercury or mercury-containing products, or both, is prohibited by local or national law. Users must determine legality of sales in their location.

    1.8 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety, health, and environmental practices and to determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use. For specific warning statements, see 8.2.3 and 8.4.

    1.9 This international standard was developed in accordance with internationally recognized principles on standardization established in the Decision on Principles for the Development of International Standards, Guides and Recommendations issued by the World Trade Organization Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT) Committee.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D189 Test Method for Conradson Carbon Residue of Petroleum Products

    D482 Test Method for Ash from Petroleum Products

    D4046 Test Method for Alkyl Nitrate in Diesel Fuels by Spectrophotometry

    D4057 Practice for Manual Sampling of Petroleum and Petroleum Products

    D4177 Practice for Automatic Sampling of Petroleum and Petroleum Products

    E1 Specification for ASTMLiquid-in-Glass Thermometers

    E133 Specification for Distillation Equipment


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 75.080 (Petroleum products in general)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code 15101505(Diesel fuel)


    Referencing This Standard
    Link Here
    Link to Active (This link will always route to the current Active version of the standard.)

    DOI: 10.1520/D4530-15R20

    Citation Format

    ASTM D4530-15(2020), Standard Test Method for Determination of Carbon Residue (Micro Method), ASTM International, West Conshohocken, PA, 2020, www.astm.org

    Back to Top