ASTM D3359 - 17

    Стандартные методы оценки адгезии с помощью клейкой ленты1

    Active Standard ASTM D3359 Developed by Subcommittee: D01.23

    Book of Standards Volume: 06.01


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 31 $75.00   ADD TO CART

    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D01.23 Standards Related Products


    Significance and Use

    5.1 Чтобы покрытие выполняло свою функцию по защите или декорированию основы, оно должно оставаться приклеенным к основе. Поскольку основа и подготовка ее поверхности (или отсутствие таковой) сильно влияют на адгезию покрытий, метод оценки адгезии покрытия к различным основам или обработанным поверхностям, либо различных покрытий к одной и той же основе, несет значительную практическую пользу в промышленности.

    5.2 Данный метод испытаний ограничивается оценкой более низких уровней адгезии (см. 1.3). Внутрилабораторная и межлабораторная прецизионность данного метода аналогична другим методам испытания основ с покрытием (например, Методам D2370 и D4060), и нечувствительна почти ко всем большим различиям в адгезии. Ограничение диапазона оценок от 0 до 5 отражает неспособность данного метода проводить тонкие различия между уровнями адгезии. Пользователи не должны использовать промежуточные значения для оценки испытаний на адгезию в рамках данного метода.

    5.3 Крайние значения температур или относительной влажности могут влиять на адгезию ленты или покрытия.

    5.4 Данная лента может не сцепляться одинаково хорошо с разными покрытиями вследствие некоторых факторов, включая различия в составе и топологии покрытий. По сути, ни одна лента с большой вероятностью не подойдет для испытания всех покрытий. Кроме того, данные методы испытаний не выдают абсолютное значение силы, необходимой для разрыва связи, а служит лишь индикатором того, что некоторое минимальное значение прочности связи было достигнуто или превышено (1, 2).6

    5.5 Операторы, выполняющие данные методы испытаний, должны пройти обучение и практику, чтобы получать достоверные результаты. Точность и прецизионность результата испытаний, полученного с помощью данных методов, сильно зависит от навыков оператора и его способности последовательно выполнять испытание. Ключевые шаги, непосредственно отражающие важность навыков оператора, включают угол и скорость удаления ленты, а также визуальную оценку испытуемого образца. Вполне возможно, что разные операторы могут получать разные результаты (1, 2).

    5.6 Данный стандарт требует быстро удалять свободный конец ленты под углом как можно ближе к 180°. Когда угол и скорость отслаивания варьируются, то усилие, необходимое для удаления ленты, может сильно изменяться вследствие реологических свойств подкладки и адгезива. Колебания скорости оттяжки и угла отслаивания могут приводить к большим различиям в результатах испытаний и должны быть минимизированы, чтобы обеспечить воспроизводимость (3).

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 1 — Отчетные данные были получены при использовании данных методов испытаний для измерения адгезии органических покрытий на неметаллических основах (например, на дереве и пластмассе), хотя соответствующие данные по прецизионности и систематической погрешности отсутствуют. При испытании покрытий на неметаллических основах Метод А или Метод В могут быть более подходящими, а применяемый метод должен быть согласован между заинтересованными сторонами. Вопросы, связанные с пластмассовыми основами, описаны в Приложении X1. Схожий метод испытаний, ISO 2409, допускает испытания на неметаллических основах (например, на дереве и штукатурке). При этом данные по прецизионности и систематической погрешности отсутствуют. Метод оценки D3359 разрабатывался с использованием металла в качестве основы и ограничен отсутствием подтверждающих данных по прецизионности и систематической погрешности.

    1. Область применения

    1.1 Настоящие методы применяются для оценки адгезии сравнительно эластичных пленочных покрытий к металлическим основам путем приложения и удаления самоклеящейся ленты на надрезы, сделанные в пленке.

    1.2 Метод A предназначен в первую очередь для использования в полевых условиях, тогда как Метод B больше подходит для использования в лабораторных или заводских условиях. Кроме того, Метод B считается неприемлемым для пленок толщиной более 125 мкм (5 мил), если не используются более широко разнесенные надрезы и если нет четкого соглашения между покупателем и продавцом.

    1.3 Настоящие методы используются для оценки того, соответствует ли адгезия покрытия к основе условиям применения пользователя. Данные методы не позволяют различать более высокие уровни адгезии, для которых требуются более сложные методы измерений.

    1.4 Настоящий метод оценки сходен по содержанию (но не эквивалентен технически) с ISO 2409.

    1.5 В многослойных системах покрытий может происходить нарушение адгезии между слоями, поэтому адгезия системы покрытий к основе не определяется.

    1.6 Значения, приведенные в единицах системы СИ, считаются стандартными. Значения в круглых скобках приведены только для справки.

    1.7 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности и мер по охране здоровья и окружающей среды, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта.

    2. Ссылочные документы

ASTM D3359 - 17

    Standard Test Methods for Rating Adhesion by Tape Test

    Active Standard ASTM D3359 | Developed by Subcommittee: D01.23

    Book of Standards Volume: 06.01


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 9 $45.00   ADD TO CART
    Hardcopy (shipping and handling) 9 $45.00   ADD TO CART
    Standard + Redline PDF Bundle 18 $54.00   ADD TO CART



    Significance and Use

    5.1 In order for a coating is to fulfill its function of protecting or decorating a substrate, the coating must remain adhered to the substrate. Because the substrate and its surface preparation (or lack thereof) have a drastic effect on the adhesion of coatings, a method to evaluate adhesion of a coating to different substrates or surface treatments, or of different coatings to the same substrate, is of considerable usefulness in the industry.

    5.2 This test method is limited to evaluating lower levels of adhesion (see 1.3). The intra- and inter-laboratory precision of this test method is similar to other test methods for coated substrates (for example, Test Method D2370 and Test Method D4060), and is insensitive to all but large differences in adhesion. Limiting the range of rankings from 0 to 5 reflects the inability of this test method to make fine distinctions between levels of adhesion. Users shall not use intermediate values for ranking adhesion tests within this method.

    5.3 Extremes in temperatures or relative humidity may affect the adhesion of the tape or the coating.

    5.4 A given tape may not adhere equally well to different coatings due to several factors, including differences in coating composition and topology. As such, no single tape is likely to be suitable for testing all coatings. Furthermore, these test methods do not give an absolute value for the force required for bond rupture, but serves only as an indicator that some minimum value for bond strength was met or exceeded (1, 2).6

    5.5 Operators performing these test methods must be trained and practiced in order to obtain consistent results. The accuracy and precision of the test result obtained by using these methods depends largely upon the skill of the operator and the operator's ability to perform the test in a consistent manner. Key steps that directly reflect the importance of operator skill include the angle and rate of tape removal and the visual assessment of the tested sample. It is not unexpected that different operators might obtain different results (1, 2).

    5.6 The standard requires that the free end of the tape be removed rapidly at as close to a 180° angle as possible. When the peel angle and rate vary, the force required to remove the tape can change dramatically due to the rheological properties of the backing and adhesive. Variation in pull rate and peel angle can effect large differences in test values and must be minimized to assure reproducibility (3).

    Note 1: These test methods have been reported being used to measure adhesion of organic coatings on non-metallic substrates (for example, wood and plastic), although related precision and bias data is lacking. If testing coatings on non-metallic substrates, either Test Method A or Test Method B may be more appropriate and the method employed should be discussed by interested parties. Issues with plastic substrates are noted in Appendix X1. A similar test method, ISO 2409, permits tests on non-metallic substrates (for example, wood and plaster). Precision and bias data on the latter is lacking. Test Method D3359 was developed with metal as the substrate and, in the absence of supporting precision and bias data, is so limited.

    1. Scope

    1.1 These test methods cover procedures for assessing the adhesion of relatively ductile coating films to metallic substrates by applying and removing pressure-sensitive tape over cuts made in the film.

    1.2 Test Method A is primarily intended for use in the field while Test Method B is more suitable for use in laboratory or shop environments. Also, Test Method B is not considered suitable for films thicker than 125μm (5 mils) unless wider spaced cuts are employed and there is an explicit agreement between the purchaser and seller.

    1.3 These test methods are used to evaluate whether the adhesion of a coating to a substrate is adequate for the user’s application. They do not distinguish between higher levels of adhesion for which more sophisticated methods of measurement are required.

    1.4 This test method is similar in content (but not technically equivalent) to ISO 2409.

    1.5 In multicoat systems adhesion failure may occur between coats so that the adhesion of the coating system to the substrate is not determined.

    1.6 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as the standard. The values given in parentheses are for information only.

    1.7 This standard does not purport to address the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D609 Practice for Preparation of Cold-Rolled Steel Panels for Testing Paint, Varnish, Conversion Coatings, and Related Coating Products

    D823 Practices for Producing Films of Uniform Thickness of Paint, Varnish, and Related Products on Test Panels

    D1000 Test Methods for Pressure-Sensitive Adhesive-Coated Tapes Used for Electrical and Electronic Applications

    D1730 Practices for Preparation of Aluminum and Aluminum-Alloy Surfaces for Painting

    D2092 Guide for Preparation of Zinc-Coated (Galvanized) Steel Surfaces for Painting

    D2370 Test Method for Tensile Properties of Organic Coatings

    D3330/D3330M Test Method for Peel Adhesion of Pressure-Sensitive Tape

    D3924 Specification for Environment for Conditioning and Testing Paint, Varnish, Lacquer, and Related Materials

    D4060 Test Method for Abrasion Resistance of Organic Coatings by the Taber Abraser

    Other Standard

    ISO 2409 Paint and Varnishes -- Cross-cut test Available from American National Standards Institute (ANSI), 25 W. 43rd St., 4th Floor, New York, NY 10036, http://www.ansi.org.


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 83.180 (Adhesives)

    Referencing This Standard
    Link Here
    Link to Active (This link will always route to the current Active version of the standard.)

    DOI: 10.1520/D3359-17

    Citation Format

    ASTM D3359-17, Standard Test Methods for Rating Adhesion by Tape Test, ASTM International, West Conshohocken, PA, 2017, www.astm.org

    Back to Top