Workshop on Coatings for the Medical Device Industry

    Dates: Tuesday November 06 2018

    Location: Washington Hilton Washington, DC

    Sponsored by: F04 Medical and Surgical Materials and Devices



    About the Event

    Abstracts for presentation are invited for the Workshop on Coatings for the Medical Device Industry to be held Tuesday, November 6, 2018. This workshop is sponsored by ASTM Committee F04 on Medical and Surgical Materials and Devices and will be held at the Washington Hilton in Washington, DC, in conjunction with the November standards development meetings of Committee F04.

    Objective and Scope This workshop is designed to discuss and strategize about upcoming needs in the development of coatings for the medical industry. An intended outcome is a strategy for developing coatings standards and specifications that will augment the pending ISO TC 150 coatings document (ISO 17327).

    Planned sessions for this workshop include:

    • Introduction to Coatings and ISO 17327
    • Coatings for soft tissue interfaces
    • Coatings for hard tissue interfaces
    • Coatings for blood tissue interfaces
    • Path forward


    Abstract Submittal

    Please submit your 300 word abstract to the Workshop Corresponding Chair Gary Fischman at gfischman@futurestrategysolutions.com by March 2, 2018.


    Technical Chair Contact Information

    Additional information about the workshop is available from the Workshop Organizers.

    Workshop Organizers

  • Gary Fischman gfischman@futurestrategysolutions.com
  • Ryan Siskey rsiskey@exponent.com
  • Parimal Bapat parimal.bapat@orchid-ortho.com
  • Byron Hayes bhayes@wlgore.com
  • Kevin Tingey ktingey@wlgore.com
  • Jill Baxter jbaxter6@its.jnj.com
  • Hany Demian Hany.Demian@fda.hhs.gov