Bookmark and Share

A Timeline of D07 Structural Wood and
Wood-Based Products Standards
1905 Committee Q on Standard Specifications for the Grading of Structural Lumber is established
1907 First standard developed: D 9, Specification for Structural Timbers
1910 1910 Name changed to Committee D07 on Wood. Standard Specification for the Grading of Yellow-Pine Bridge and Trestle Timbers is completed
1915 1915 D 38, Sampling Wood Preservatives Prior to Testing, the first of many preservative standards, is published
1919 1919 American Lumber Congress calls for development of lumber standards for grades, nomenclature, forms, and molding
1922 1922 D 143, Standard Methods of Testing Small Clear Specimens of Timber is approved; Central Committee on Lumber Standards established by the U.S. Department of Commerce
1924 1924 D 198, Standard Methods of Testing Timber in Structural Sizes, is approved
1926 1926 D 245, Specifications for Structural Wood Joists and Planks, Beams and Stringers, and Posts and Timbers, is published
1930 1930 Committee D07 now has five standards related to solid wood and four that address preservative treatments
1930s and 40s 1930s Research continues on wood at the Forest Products Laboratory; design stresses are revised during wartime,but industrial contribution is slowed, first by the Depression and then by war efforts
1960 1960 Forty-three standards developed after 1960
1963 1963 D07 is realigned to enable more effective handling of controversial issues related to clear wood properties
1966 1966 D 2555, Test Methods for Establishing Clear Wood Strength Values, is developed. It uses historical clear wood property data and new information from double sampling for some species. By 1970 this will be the basis for establishing species groups.
1970 1970 D 2915, Standard Practice for Evaluating Allowable Properties for Grades of Structural Lumber, is approved. This standard introduces statistical methodology for sampling test materials and the concept of confidence interval assignment, using either parametric or non-parametric statistics.
1970s 1970s In-grade testing program of structural lumber initiated by the lumber industry. Introduction of first standards for deriving allowable properties of round timber piles (D 2899 and D 3200). Introduction of glulam standard, D 3737, Practice for Establishing Allowable Properties for Structural Glued Laminated Timber (Glulam)
1980s 1980s Completion of the industry In-Grade Testing Program. Promulgation of D 1990, Practice for Establishing Allowable Properties for Visually-Graded Dimension Lumber from In-Grade Tests of Full-Size Specimens. Introduction of engineered wood products.
1990s 1990s Publication of Standards D 5055, Standard Specification for Establishing and Monitoring Properties of Wood I-Joists, and D 5456, Standard Specification for Establishing and Monitoring Properties of Structural Composite Lumber. Industry development of load and resistance factor design method for wood, and D07 promulgation of D 5457, Specification for Computing the Reference Resistance of Wood-Based Materials and Structural Connections for Load and Resistance Factor Design, to translate allowable properties to the new format. New design method for bolted connections published in National Design Specification®, and promulgation of D 5652, Test Methods for Bolted Connections in Wood and Wood-Base Products, and D 5764, Test Method for Evaluating Dowel-Bearing Strength of Wood and Wood-Base Products, for the assessment of bolted connections and development of material properties used in the design method for mechanical fasteners.
2000s    2000s Subjects of most recent new standards: Creep and duration of load effects for wood and wood-based products; allowable properties for mechanically graded lumber; system effects in repetitive-member wood assemblies; calculation of loads for wood assemblies for fire endurance tests; wood-plastic composites for deck boards and guardrails; side-bonded wood floors
Return to Feature