Standardization News Search
Staff News
The distinguished ASTM Director Earl Sullivan, shown seated (left) at a roast given in his honor by Committee A01 on Steel, Stainless Steel, and Related Alloys, retired from ASTM in February. Sullivan served ASTM for 32 years as a staff manager, and for the last 17 years has served exclusively as the staff manager for ASTM’s two largest committees, A01 and D02 on Petroleum Products and Lubricants. A01 roasted Sullivan using the many “hats” he wore as their staff manager, including a “Pope Earl I” hat signifying Earl’s status as the omniscient and infallible staff liaison for their committee. Crowning Sullivan is Sam Tyson; past committee chairman and emcee Al Melilli stands at the podium. Sullivan is also pictured (top) with officers and members of ASTM Committee D02: (from left) past D02 chairman N. David Smith; past first vice chairman Susan E. Litka; John T. Jones; Douglas G. Roddick; Thomas E. Jones; Alex T. Lau; and Mical C. Renz. D02 held a reception in honor of Sullivan’s retirement and presented him with an Award of Excellence. //

Copyright 2000, ASTM