Bookmark and Share

Standardization News Search
ASTM International News
Candidates for 2004 Board of Directors Announced

ASTM International is pleased to announce the slate of candidates selected by the Society’s Nominating Committee as follows:

• Chairman of the board: Arthur D. Schwope, TIAX, LLC

• Vice chairman of the board (two-year term): Anthony E. Fiorato, Construction Technology Labs, Inc.

• Directors (three-year terms):
- Lars Flink, Swedish Standards Institute
- Joshua J. Jacobs, Rush Medical College
- Jeffery A. Melsom, Michelin Tire Research and Development Center (Shanghai) Co., Ltd.
- Ramani Narayan, Michigan State University
- Roger Stoller, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
- Paul K. Whitcraft, Rolled Alloys, Inc.

Instructions for voting and biographical information on each candidate will be published in the October issue of SN for your approval. In addition to electing the 2004 board of directors, you are asked to recommend candidates from the ASTM membership to serve on next year’s Nominating Committee. Please include your suggestions on the bottom portion of the ballot card.

Please look for the ballot in the October issue, cast your vote and return the card to ASTM Headquarters. Contact Maureen Houck (phone: 610/832-9594) should you need any further information. //

Construction Seminar in Trinidad and Tobago

In June, the Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards hosted a Construction Expo and Seminar in Tunapuna with the theme “Construct with Standards: Better Buildings for the Future.” ASTM President Jim Thomas attended, and presented a speech on “Standards for Global Trade.” In his presentation, Thomas addressed the recent economic growth Trinidad and Tobago has experienced and the burgeoning trade relationship enjoyed between Trinidad and Tobago and the United States. He went on to discuss the role of standards in global trade and the positive effects on competitiveness when businesses are free to develop and use the best international standards available.

While in Trinidad and Tobago, Thomas participated in a formal signing ceremony with TTBS Executive Director Lawford Dupre. The memorandum of understanding they officially signed has been in effect for over a year.

In addition to Thomas, ASTM members Phillip Speer, of Committee A01 on Steel, Stainless Steel, and Related Alloys and James S. Pierce, former ASTM chairman of the board and member of ASTM Committees C01 on Cement and C09 on Concrete and Concrete Aggregates, were present; they spoke to the seminar attendees about steel and concrete standards, respectively. //

ASTM President Jim Thomas addresses the Construction Expo and Seminar in Trinidad and Tobago. Seated is Lawford Dupres, executive director, Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards (TTBS).

Dupres and Thomas sign a memorandum of understanding between TTBS and ASTM.

(From left:) Lawford Dupres addressing seminar audience; Jim Thomas, Dianne Seukaran, minister of State, Ministry of Trade and Industry, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago; and Rohan Roopnarine, vice chairman, Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards board of directors.

Change in Return Date for ASTM International Society Review

The Society Review of main committee ballot items appears monthly on the ASTM Web site. Beginning in September, because all Society Review items are available electronically, the return date for the ballot will be changed to the last day of the month rather than the 10th of the following month (e.g., September Society Review will close on Sept. 30 rather than Oct. 10). To request copies of Society Review items, please email, following the instructions on the Web site. //

Proposed Amendment to ASTM Bylaws

A proposed amendment to the ASTM Bylaws will allow the ASTM board of directors to establish a timetable for removing members from the ASTM roles when their administrative fees have remained unpaid for a specified period of time. This item will be open for discussion at a Special Business Meeting during the Members’ Breakfast, Wednesday, Oct. 22, at the October Committee Week in Tampa, Fla. Prior to the Special Business Meeting, the proposed amendment and rationale will be circulated to the membership via ballot. The amendment will be adopted if approved by a majority of the votes cast at the meeting together with the letter ballot votes.

The complimentary breakfast will begin at 7:00 a.m. at a location to be announced at the Tampa Marriott Waterside in Tampa, Fla. For more information, contact Drew C. Azzara, ASTM vice president of Corporate Development (phone: 610/832-9676). //

Committee Centennial Celebration

On Dec. 10, 2002, in Miami Beach, Fla., Committee C01 on Cement marked 100 years of successful and innovative standards writing with a centennial celebration. The gala event included comments by then-ASTM Chairman of the Board Richard J. Schulte, ASTM President James A. Thomas, and Portland Cement Association President Jay Gleason. Former ASTM Chairman and C01 Centennial Chairman Emery Farkas acted as master of ceremonies and shared his experiences and perspectives from long involvement in ASTM. The committee enjoyed a delightful anniversary dinner and dancing afterwards. Special thanks to the many members of industry that helped to sponsor the event. //

At the C01 centennial celebration (from left): Richard J. Schulte, 2002 chairman of the ASTM board; Dee Pierce; Jim Thomas, ASTM president; Lily Farkas; Jay Gleason, Portland Cement Association president; Helene Hardy Pierce, 2002 ASTM board member; and Emery Farkas, C01 centennial chairman.

Staff Service Awards

In June, several ASTM staff members were honored for their years of service to ASTM International. ASTM presents service awards to employees reaching anniversaries of five, 10, 15, years, etc.

Copyright 2003, ASTM