Sanford E. Thompson Award - Guidelines


    The Sanford E. Thompson Award is given to the author or authors of a paper published by ASTM of outstanding merit in the field of concrete and concrete aggregates. This field is defined in the scope of Committee C09.

    The award was established in 1938 to stimulate research, encourage the extension of knowledge of concrete and concrete aggregates, and to recognize meritorious effort. It also honors the first chairman of Committee C09 on Concrete and Concrete Aggregates, who served from 1910 to 1922.


    The Sanford E. Thompson Award Subcommittee consists of three members of Committee C09. They are appointed by the executive subcommittee of C09. Each member will serve an appointed three-year term. The appointment is made at the executive subcommittee meeting held during the annual meeting of the Society. The senior member of the subcommittee serves as its chairman. Members of the Society's Standing Committee on Publications are not eligible to serve on the award subcommittee.

    Papers eligible for this award must be accepted by ASTM’s Committee on Publications for publishing and should also be published by the Society. Papers to be reviewed at any one time should be those published which are considered for the Charles B. Dudley Award.

    By December 15 of each year, the award subcommittee will review the eligible papers.

    The award subcommittee will select the best paper or determine that the award should not be made. They will notify the chairman and secretary of C09 of its decision no later than December 15 each year. This will allow time for consideration of the Charles B. Dudley Awards Committee of the selection made by the Thompson Award Subcommittee.

    If the Dudley Awards Committee selects the same paper as the Thompson Committee - the paper is still eligible for the Thompson Award.

    If the Awards Committee finds there are not any papers worthy the award for that year no award will be given.

    The Executive Subcommittee of C09 has the authority to modify or change any criteria not specifically covered in the current rules.


    A walnut plaque and a certificate (held in stock) designed for this award is presented to the recipients. If an award paper has co-authors, each will receive a plaque and certificate; the names of the two authors on the plaque are reversed so that each author will receive the plaque with his name appearing first.


    Committee C09 is responsible for funding.

    Search for past recipients through the ASTM International Awards and Recipients Database