William T. Cavanaugh Memorial Award

    The W. T. Cavanaugh Memorial Award is granted to a person of widely recognized eminence in the voluntary standards system who may or may not be a member of ASTM. The title of Honorary Member is bestowed upon recipients of the award. No more than two award recipients shall be named in a calendar year. This award, established in 1987, honors W. T. Cavanaugh who firmly established ASTM as the world leader in the development and dissemination of voluntary consensus standards during his service as Chief Executive Officer from 1970 until his death in 1985.

    Form of Award:

    Shadow box plaque with a bronze photo-etched medallion likeness of W.T. Cavanaugh


    No more than 2 individuals can be selected for the award in a single year. Candidates may or may not be members of ASTM but must be living at the time of nomination in order to be eligible for consideration. While in office, Society officers and directors are prohibited from nominating or being nominated as candidates for the award.

    Administrative Responsibility:

    Honors and Awards Department

    Nomination Deadline:

    April 1

    Nomination Send To:

    Maureen Houck

    Phone Number:


    Awarded By:


    View Award Guidelines

    Search for past recipients through the ASTM International Awards and Recipients Database