Walter C. Voss Award - Guidelines


    The Walter C. Voss Award is presented once a year to an engineer or scientist who has made notable contributions to the knowledge in the field of building technology. The award, established in 1962, honors Walter C. Voss, a Fellow of ASTM and former Chair of Committee C07 on Lime, who did much to further the work of ASTM in research and standardization.


    The award shall be administered by the Walter C. Voss Awards Committee consisting of three members of the Society representing various disciplines in the building industry. Members of the committee shall serve three-year staggered terms. The person having seniority on the committee shall serve as Chair. Appointments to the committee shall be made by the President through the Awards Administrator.

    Nominations for the award shall be solicited from the ASTM membership through an article to be published in the June and July issue of Standardization News.

    Both members and nonmembers are eligible to receive the award.

    Nominations must be received in the form of a letter documenting the contributions of a candidate no later than August 1 of a calendar year by the Chair of the Awards Committee.

    A majority vote of the committee shall constitute an approval of a recipient.

    Should, in the opinion of the Committee, no candidate be worthy of the award, no award shall be given during the calendar year.

    The Awards Committee shall notify the Awards Administrator of its selection by mid-August via a letter containing an appropriate statement as to the basis for selection of the recipient and suggested citation for the plaque.

    The Board Chair of the ASTM International Board of Directors through the Awards Administrator, shall notify the award recipient.

    The award shall be presented at an ASTM meeting of the recipient's choice.

    The Voss Awards Committee shall via telephone or mail, consider nominations during the month of August.

    If the award is, for any reason, discontinued, the remainder of the principal shall be placed in the ASTM Research Fund.


    The Walter C. Voss Award may be presented based on any one of the following criteria:

    • Contributions to building technology using materials that constitutes
      significant advances or innovations.
    • Creative contributions of a more general scope that benefit the
      entire   construction    industry   and   encourage   its   fundamental


    The award shall consist of a walnut frame, with garnet velvet background containing a bronze bas relief portrait medallion of Walter C. Voss, a bronze ASTM logo disc, and a bronze plate suitable for engraving. Wording on the plaque shall read:

    Walter C. Voss Award

    For distinguished contributions

    to knowledge in the field

    of building technology

    is presented to




    Signature                                                 Signature

    President                                                  Board Chair


    The Walter C. Voss Award was made possible by a gift from friends and former students and is funded by the Society.

    Search for past recipients through the ASTM International Awards and Recipients Database