Frank C. Brautigam Award - Guidelines


    Established in 1988 by Committee G02 on Wear and Erosion, this award is presented for outstanding and effective work in developing a new ASTM standard, as exemplified by Frank C. Brautigam, chairman of a Task Group on Abrasive Wear from 1975 to 1986.


    - The nominee must be a member of Committee G02 and a Task Group Chairman who has been highly effective in developing a new ASTM standard under the committee's jurisdiction. The standard must have passed Society ballot and satisfied other usual Society criteria at the time of recommendation of the nominee to the Society. The potential impact of the standard on the wear (tribology) community is the principle consideration in the process of selecting the nominee.

    - The nominee is identified by the Awards Subcommittee and approved by majority vote of the Executive subcommittee.

    - One nominee is recommended every two years.

    - An engraved wall plaque is at ASTM Headquarters. On each occasion the name of the recipient and the date are added to the plaque. A plaque is prepared for presentation to the recipient at a regular Committee meeting.


    Search for past recipients through the ASTM International Awards and Recipients Database