Harry Farrar IV Award - Guidelines

    Harry Farrar IV Award

    Committee E61

    Establishment of the Harry Farrar IV Award

    This Society-recognized Committee Award was established in 2013 by Committee E61 on Radiation Processing in honor of Harry Farrar IV.  This award will serve as the E61 Award of Merit.

    Dr. Harry Farrar IV

    Harry was born in England and at an early age he emigrated with his family to Canada. After receiving his PhD. from McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario, Harry joined Rockwell International (Atomics International Division) and moved to Los Angeles. There he developed a helium mass spectrometer system and techniques for measuring very low levels of helium isotopes. Harry pursued applications of these techniques for cross-section measurements, tritium determination, gas production measurements in materials, and neutron dosimetry for both fission and fusion applications. Arising out of these efforts was development of the helium accumulation fluence monitors (HAFMs), which received an IR-100 award in 1978.  Harry participated in early efforts to resolve discrepancies in neutron fluence measurement starting with the Inter-Laboratory Reaction Rate (ILRR) Program in the early 1970s.

    Dr. Farrar started contributing to ASTM in 1975 and has served in many capacities in Committee E10 including two terms as E10 chair (1998-2002) after serving two terms as 1st vice-chair.  In 1984, Harry began work on food irradiation and quickly became aware of the lack of standards in that field.  He formed a task group “Radiation Dosimetry for Food Processing” to write standards for electron beams and gamma rays.  Subsequently, the scope was expanded to include all forms of radiation processing.  Through his efforts, in 1988 this task group became a new subcommittee, ASTM E10.01, “Dosimetry for Radiation Processing.” After his retirement from Rockwell in 1992, Harry continued his radiation processing standardization activities and was instrumental in a pioneering effort to get the series of E10.01 ASTM dosimetry standards accepted internationally as ISO standards.  Harry’s multiple contributions to ASTM have been recognized with numerous E10 awards as well as the ASTM Award of Merit (1992) for “distinguished service in the advancement of voluntary consensus standardization through participation in ASTM Committee E10 on Nuclear Technology and Applications.” Harry served as chair of Subcommittee E10.01 from its inception until 2005, and under his leadership, it became one of the largest and most productive subcommittees in E10; producing 30 standards.

    Harry was instrumental in the success of numerous symposia and workshops.  He started working on the organization of the ASTM-Euratom Symposia on Reactor Dosimetry, serving as poster session chair for the 5th Symposium in Geesthacht, Germany in 1984, as general chair for the 6th and 8th symposia in Jackson Hole (1987) and Vail (1993), and as ASTM chair for the 7th Symposium in Strasbourg, France (1990).  Harry also initiated and chaired the first four ASTM international workshops on radiation processing dosimetry, the first of which was held in Ste-Adèle, Québec in 1989.  These symposia and workshop continue to this day.

    Through Harry’s vision, dedication and leadership, ASTM Subcommittee E10.01 was able to expand and flourish and in 2012 was unanimously approved and granted Main committee status as ASTM Committee E61 on Radiation Processing.

    Award Criteria

    Any member of Committee E61 is eligible to receive the Harry Farrar IV award.  A nominee will be judged upon the member’s sustained and exceptional contribution to the development and use of consensus standards in the field of radiation processing and its applications.  The award recognizes outstanding performance in service to Committee E61 or to one of its technical subcommittees.  Though not a prerequisite, an unusually long and productive service within E61 will be considered on its own as a significant item in the evaluation process.

    Selection Process

    The selection of the candidate will be made by the Executive Subcommittee of E61 based on nominations submitted by the subcommittee chair or by any E61 member.  Names and profiles of candidates must be submitted in the Candidate Profile format (provided below) to the 1st Vice Chair of Committee E61 by December 1st or May 1st for consideration at the winter or summer Executive Subcommittee meetings respectively.  The discussion of the Harry Farrar IV award will be placed on the upcoming meeting agenda.  The executive subcommittee will then review the nominations at their meeting to verify compliance with the award criteria. 

    Selection of the recipient of the award shall be based on merit.  A maximum of one person may be honored in a calendar year and there is no requirement to bestow the honor each year.  The candidates and the submissions shall be discussed at the E61.90 meeting, but if one of the candidates is present, the discussion shall be deferred and handled by telephone, mail or e-mail.  Between 2 and 4 weeks after these discussions, the Committee E61 chair shall send a ballot to each member of the Executive Subcommittee with ballots to be returned within 15 days.  Approval of the nominee will be based upon 66% affirmative votes on the returned ballots.  When a member has received approval for the award, this shall be announced.  At the next Main Committee meeting following the ballot, if the recipient is on hand, the award will be presented by the most senior ASTM official available.

    Financial Support

    The large wall plaque for permanent display at ASTM headquarters has been budgeting for and covered by committee funds.  The cost of the individual plaques and their inscriptions will be deducted from the General Fund of Committee E61.


    Section I – Nominee

    Name, Title



    City, State, Zip, Country

    Section II – Citation

    Provide a brief description of the nominee’s overall contributions toward the development and use of consensus standards in the field of radiation processing and its applications.

    Section III – Qualifications

    Describe the nominee’s contributions to ASTM and Committee E61 that provide justification for this award.  Indicate the nominee’s E61 term of membership and positions held.  Describe specific contributions to writing or revising standards and indicate the importance of these contributions.  Describe other contributions to committee efforts, such as helping to implement or publicize standards or contributions to workshops.  Where relevant, include a description of the nominee’s other notable professional activities and achievements.

    Section IV – Biography

    Give a brief biography of the nominee.  Include such information as date and place of birth, education and professional career accomplishments.  Indicate the nominee’s specific area of expertise, positions in other professional organizations and citation’s of the nominee’s contribution in the field of radiation processing.

    Search for past recipients through the ASTM International Awards and Recipients Database