Committee Structure

    Alphanumeric Committee Listing

    Each technical committee in ASTM has the same basic 3-tiered structure (i.e. main committee, subcommittees, and task groups) as indicated by the diagram below.

    Each main committee is a semiautonomous group approved by the ASTM Board of Directors and is responsible for developing standards in a given subject area.

    Each main committee is divided into multiple subcommittees that address specific subjects or areas within the scope of the main committee: these areas include technical as well as administrative capabilities. Task groups are organized to complete a single specific project such as the development of a new standard, the revision of an existing standard, or the coordination of a round robin testing program to obtain supporting data for a precision statement.

    Main Committee

    F08 on Sports Equipment & Facilities


    F08.10 Bicycles
    F08.15 Ice Hockey
    F08.54 Athletic Footwear

    Task Groups

    Revision to F1625 - Standard Specification and Test Method for Rear-Mounted Bicycle Child Carriers
    5-Year Review of F737 - Standard Performance Specification for Ice Hockey Skate Blades
    Draft Test Method for Flexibility of Running Shoes
    Evaluation of Precision for Test Method for Water Resistance of Footwear Using a Step Simulator

    All ASTM committees are led by members who have been elected to serve as officers. There are four main committee officer positions that are common to virtually every ASTM committee ñ Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary, and Membership Secretary (for a description of the duties and responsibilities for these offices, please refer to the Technical Committee Officer Handbook). At the subcommittee level, a Chairman (and occasionally a Vice-Chairman or Secretary), is appointed by the leadership of the main committee.