You are being redirected because this document is part of your ASTM Compass® subscription.
    This document is part of your ASTM Compass® subscription.


    Nuclear Radiation—Its Detection and Measurement


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF (524K) 10 $25   ADD TO CART
    Complete Source PDF (1.8M) 51 $55   ADD TO CART

    Cite this document

    X Add email address send
      .RIS For RefWorks, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zoteo, and many others.   .DOCX For Microsoft Word


    There are six different types of commonly used nuclear radiations: alpha particles, beta particles, positrons, gamma rays, protons, and neutrons. The first five of these radiations are detected directly by the ionization which they produce on passage through a medium, such as gas. Neutrons are unlike the other radiations in that they are nonionizing in nature, but when entering a nucleus they often convert it to a radioactive isotope whose emission is detectable (for instance, when they enter the nucleus of the boron-10 isotope, the nucleus disrupts, emitting an alpha particle and a lithium particle; the alpha and lithium particles can be detected). Neutrons, therefore, are detected by secondary means.

    Author Information:

    Wakefield, Ernest H.
    President, Radiation Counter Laboratories, Inc., Skokie, Ill.

    Committee/Subcommittee: E10.07

    DOI: 10.1520/STP47986S