You are being redirected because this document is part of your ASTM Compass® subscription.
    This document is part of your ASTM Compass® subscription.


    International Consumer Product Testing Across Cultures and Countries: Thailand

    Published: May 2007

      Format Pages Price  
    PDF (104K) 11 $25   ADD TO CART


    Thailand is divided into 76 provinces (changwad) with five main regions (Central, Northern, Northeastern, Southern, and Eastern) with a diversity of landscape and natural resources.

    Provinces in five regions of Thailand.

    Centralqa(22 Provinces)Bangkok (Krung Thep Mahanakhon), Ang Thong, Chachoengsao, Chai Nat, Kanchanaburi, Lop Buri, Nakhon Nayok, Nakhon Phanom, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Prachin Buri, Phetchaburi, Ratchaburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Sa Kaeo, Samut Prakan, Samut Sakhon, Samut Songkhram, Sara Buri, Sing Buri, Suphan Buri
    Northern (17 Provinces)Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Kamphaeng Phet, Lampang, Lamphun, Mae Hong Son, Nakhon Sawan, Nan, Phayao, Phetchaburi, Phichit, Phitsanulok, Phrae, Sukhothai, Tak, Uthai Thani, Uttaradit
    Northeasternqa(19 Provinces)Amnat Charoen, Buriram, Chaiyaphum, Kalasin, Khon Kaen, Loei, Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Ratchasima, Nong Bua Lamphun, Nong Khai, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Roi Et, Sakon Nakhon, Sisaket, Surin, Ubon  Ratchathani, Udon Thani, Yasothon
    Southernqa(14 Provinces)Chumphon, Krabi, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phangnga, Phatthalung, Phuket, Ranong, Satun, Songkhla, Surat Thani, Trang, Yala
     Easternqa (4 Provinces) Chanthaburi, Chon Buri, Rayong, Trat

    The Central Region and its plain has the highest fertility, is an extensive rice-producing area, and has many major industries around the densely populated area of Bangkok. The Northern Region comprises a mountainous area of natural forest, ridges, and deep, narrow alluvial valleys. Chiang Mai is the second-most populous city and province and is the center of the Northern Region. The Northeastern Plateau Region is an arid region with a rolling surface and undulating hills. The large Nakon Ratchasima Province serves as the gateway to the Northeastern Region. Khon Kaen and Ubon Rajathani are considered regional development provinces in the Northeastern Region after the establishment of government universities there. The rain-forested Southern Region peninsula is hilly, thick in forests, and has rich deposits of minerals and iron ores. This region is the center for the production of rubber and the cultivation of other tropical crops, and also is home to many Thai Muslims. Hat Yai, the major business district of Songkhla Province, serves as a regional center in transportation, communications, and education. Phuket is a major tourist attraction in the south. The Eastern Region, including Chon Buri Province, is known primarily as a major tourist area because of the beautiful seashores and good sources of seafood. From 1998, the eastern seaboard also was established to be the main business area of the petroleum industry and shipping. A new Bangkok International airport “Suvarnabhumi” (code BKK), situated approximately 30 miles from Bangkok, opened in the eastern area in late 2006 for both international and domestic travel and shipping. However, the older airport (Don Muang) still may be used for some domestic air service and some shipping. Thus, it is imperative to determine what airport is being used for domestic travel and air shipments.

    Author Information:

    Kongpensook, Varapha
    Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok,

    Chambers, Edgar
    Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS

    Oupadissakoon, Chintana
    Kasetsart University, Bangkok,

    Committee/Subcommittee: E18.08

    DOI: 10.1520/MNL11116M