Dr. M. R. Mitchell

    Dr. M. R. Mitchell


    Mechanics & Materials Consulting, Flagstaff, AZ

    Consultant, 2005 – present. Manager of LLC consulting firm specializing in fatigue and fracture of materials, fatigue lifetime predictive techniques, materials compatibility/selection, design optimization, cast materials, failure analysis, etc.

    Rockwell International Science Center, Thousand Oaks, CA

    Sr. Research Scientist, 1977 to 2002. Performed basic and applied research for a variety of programs with funding from Corporate, Intra-company and Government sources. Worked closely with Rocketdyne Div. (presently P&WA Corp.) and Automotive Div. (presently Arvin-Meritor) as program manager and principle investigator for such programs as: strain-based cumulative damage techniques for advanced propulsion systems, developed test methodologies for cryogenic (LHe and LN2) and ultra high temperature (3000oC) research of advanced material systems, anticlastic behavior of Al-Li alloys, shear strain-based damage analyses for titanium alloys, permeability of epoxy composite and CMC’s to gaseous hydrogen at high pressures (5000 psi), high frequency (300 Hz) fatigue of Al-Li, gamma TiAl and P&WA 1484, narrow-band spectrum fatigue of vertical axis wind turbine blades, ion implantations for improved bearing corrosion/fatigue resistance, fatigue enhancement of gears for heavy vehicles using high carbon induction hardened bainitic microstructures, direct metal fabrication/rapid prototyping of engineering structures, developed test methodology/design program for fatigue/corrosion of steel cables in window regulators, modification of case microstructures with ultrasonic agitation, failure analysis of C-17 landing gear, failure analysis of “Rocketcar” at Disneyland, failure analysis of C-130 ammunition storage/handling system, failure analysis of hydrogen vent LVDT for Space Shuttle Discovery, litigation team member – NYCTA (New York City Transit Authority) lawsuit on subway truck failures – after 25 years.

    Manager, Physical Metallurgy Department, 5 years. 14 professional staff members with diverse backgrounds in alloy development, process metallurgy, diffusion bonding, superplasticity, mechanics of materials, rapid prototyping, etc. Six Corporate Short Courses on Fatigue of Materials.

    Adjunct Professor, Moorpark College, Moorpark, CA 1988-2001, courses in Mechanics of Materials and Material Science and also taught for 7 years at Univ. of Illinois, TAM Dept.; Statics, Dynamics, Material Science, Mechanics of Materials; TAM Dept. “Teacher of Year” (1974), Undergraduate Teacher of Year, Campus-wide (1975).

    Ford Motor Company

    Engine and Foundry Division; Engine Design, 1963-1965, Component Designer

    Scientific Research Staff, Metallurgy Dept., 1965-1971 Research Engineer


    • PhD, Theoretical/Applied Mechanics, 1976, University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana, IL
    • M.S., Metallurgical Engineering, 1969, Wayne State University, Detroit, MI
    • B.S., Mechanical Engineering, 1963, Lawrence Institute of Technology (with Honors), Southfield, MI

    Professional Organizations


    • Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Testing and Evaluation, 2005-present
    • Chairman ASTM E08 Fatigue and Fracture, 2000-2006
    • Recipient ASTM Fatigue Achievement Award, 2004
    • Chairman, Long Range Planning, ASTM E08.93, 1996-2000
    • Vice Chairman, ASTM E08 Fatigue, 1996-2000
    • Recipient Honor of “Fellow” ASTM, 1998
    • Chairman ASTM E8.05 Cyclic Deformation and Crack Initiation, 1992-96
    • Chairman, ASTM E9.08 Fatigue of Materials and Chairman of E9.03 Fatigue of Advanced Materials, 1989-92


    • Secretary ISO TC164 SC5 on Fatigue, 1991-Present

    SAE/United States

    • Chairman, SAE, Fatigue Design and Evaluation Committee, 1983-89
    • Chairman, Society of Automotive Engineers, Materials Properties and Processing Analysis, 1979-1983

    SAE/Sao Paulo, Brasil

    • Lead Lecturer for invited short courses in Fatigue of Materials


    • Shape Memory and Superelastic Technologies, Inc. Member, Board of Directors, 2004-2006
    • Vice President 2006-2008
    • President 2008-2010