ASTM International Board of Directors

    2013-2015 Director

    Robin E. Graves, Ph.D., is corporate manager of technical services at Vulcan Materials Co. in Birmingham, Alabama. Graves provides technical services and market development support to operating divisions in the company, which produces construction aggregates, portland cement concrete, hot mix asphalt and portland cement.

    A member of ASTM since 1992, Graves is chairman of Committee C07 on Lime and Limestone and vice chairman of Committee C09 on Concrete and Concrete Aggregates. He has chaired several C07 and C09 subcommittees and currently chairs Subcommittee C09.95 on Coordination. He is also a member of Committees C12 on Mortars and Grouts for Unit Masonry, D04 on Road and Paving Materials and D18 on Soil and Rock. For his contributions, he has received C07 and C09 Awards of Appreciation. Graves also served a term on the ASTM Committee on Technical Committee Operations (COTCO), where he acted as chairman of the subcommittee on regulations.

    Graves earned his master’s and doctorate degrees in geology and civil engineering from the University of Florida in 1987 and 1991, respectively, after completing his bachelor’s in geology and computer science at the University of Southern Mississippi. In 1991, Graves became research and development project manager at Chemical Lime Co., followed by quality control manager and business development manager positions with the company. In 1998, Graves took on the role of vice president of research and engineering for the National Aggregates Association. He was a senior materials scientist with Vulcan for 13 years before assuming his current position in 2011.

    A licensed professional geologist, Graves holds two patents, has published numerous technical articles and reports, and serves as a reviewer for professional technical journals. In addition to ASTM, he is a member of the American Concrete Institute and the Transportation Research Board, and has served on several industry association committees. He is also a past chairman of the technical advisory committee and the advisory board of directors for the International Center for Aggregates Research.