ASTM International Board of Directors

    2016-2017 Past Chairman

    Ronald J. Ebelhar, P.E., D.GE, is a senior principal with the multidisciplinary engineering firm Terracon in Cincinnati, Ohio.

    Ebelhar, who joined ASTM in 1980, is a past chairman of Committee D18 on Soil and Rock. An ASTM fellow and 2003 Award of Merit recipient, Ebelhar has received several honors from D18, including the R.S. Ladd Standards Development Award, the Woodland G. Shockley Award and the A. Ivan Johnson Outstanding Achievement Award. He also served a term on the ASTM Committee on Technical Committee Operations.

    After earning his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in civil engineering from the University of Kentucky, Ebelhar joined McClelland Engineers in Houston, Texas, as a staff engineer. He then served as division manager and vice president for Rust Environment & Infrastructure in Cincinnati, Ohio, before taking the position of vice president with H.C. Nutting in 1996. He assumed his current role when Terracon purchased H.C. Nutting in 2007.

    As a project manager for geotechnical and environmental engineering projects worldwide, Ebelhar has provided design, consulting and forensic engineering services for commercial, industrial, transportation, waste disposal and public utility projects; geotechnical engineering design and construction; and marine geosciences and engineering field explorations. He is a registered professional engineer in eight states.