ASTM International Award of Merit

The ASTM Award of Merit is the highest ASTM honor recognizing distinguished service and outstanding participation in committee activities. In 2012, there were 30 recipients of the Award of Merit and its accompanying title of fellow.

2012 Award of Merit Recipients

Kevin J. Bly

D02 on Petroleum Products and Lubricants

Stephen J. Boros

F17 on Plastic Piping Systems

Theodore J. Engle

B05 on Copper and Copper Alloys

Jeffrey S. Goldfinger

F38 on Unmanned Aircraft Systems

Mark S. Granger

F08 on Sports Equipment and Facilities

John R. Hubbling

D19 on Water

Bryan M. Johnson

D02 on Petroleum Products and Lubricants

Michael Katcher

B02 on Nonferrous Metals and Alloys

Herbert W. Koch

A05 on Metallic-Coated Iron and Steel Products

Robert J. Kudder

E06 on Performance of Buildings

Peter Lane

F20 on Hazardous Substances and Oil Spill Response

Mark L. Lavach

D20 on Plastics

Lance R. Lewand

D27 Electrical Insulating Liquids and Gases

Gregory L. Linder

E47 on Thermal Measurements

John R. Mario

E30 on Forensic Sciences

Claudia V. Kropas-Hughes

E07 on Nondestructive Testing

Hal Miller

F02 on Flexible Barrier Packaging

Wallace J. Munden

C13 on Concrete Pipe

Richard W. Neu

E08 on Fatigue and Fractures

Patrick J. Nolan

D10 on Packaging

Michael A. Petermann

E06 on Performance of Buildings

Joe S. Robbins

G03 on Weathering and Durability

F. Robert Setlak

A01 on Steel, Stainless Steel and Related Alloys

Paul Shipp

E05 on Fire Standards

James J. Simnick

D02 on Petroleum Products and Lubricants

Kenneth R. St. John

F04 on Medical and Surgical Materials and Devices

James C. Strong

D08 on Soil and Rock

Edward L. Tobolski

E34 on Occupational Health and Safety

Jack A. Touseull

D18 on Soil and Rock

David A. Zabrowski

F26 on Food Service Equipment

Daniel S. Zechmeister

C15 on Manufactured Masonry Units

Cavanaugh Memorial Award

Anthony E. Fiorato, Ph.D., P.E., a consultant and executive director of the Slag Cement Association, Barrington, Ill., was the recipient of the ASTM International 2012 William T. Cavanaugh Memorial Award for his outstanding leadership and contributions in promoting and strengthening the national and international voluntary standards system.

A member of ASTM International for 32 years and the American Concrete Institute (ACI) for 36 years, Fiorato has served as the top volunteer member in both organizations and has participated in policy-making decisions at the highest level. An ASTM fellow and Award of Merit recipient, he was chairman of the ASTM International board of directors in 2006, a board member from 2001 to 2008, and the chairman of Committee C09 from 2008 to 2011.

Before retiring in 2007, Fiorato served as president and chief executive officer of CTLGroup, Skokie, Ill., a firm that provides engineering, scientific and testing services to the construction and related industries. He makes significant contributions through his involvement in industry and academia, and has has authored more than 60 papers and articles. He frequently lectures to technical and non-technical groups on cement and concrete technology, test methods, codes and standards, and structural applications and performance.