ASTM G62 - 07(2013)

    Стандартные методы определения пропусков в защитном покрытии трубопровода

    Active Standard ASTM G62 Developed by Subcommittee: D01.48

    Book of Standards Volume: 06.02


    Contact Jim S. Thomas for price quote.


    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D01.48 Standards Related Products


    1. Область применения

    1.1 Данные методы определения описывают аппаратуру и процедуру для выявления пропусков в типовых защитных покрытиях трубопроводов.

    1.2 Метод A предназначен для выявления пропусков типа булавочных отверстий и пустот в тонких пленочных покрытиях толщиной от 0,0254 до 0,254 мм (от 1 до 10 мил) с помощью обычной водопроводной воды и прикладываемого постоянного напряжения менее 100 В. Он эффективен для пленок толщиной до 0,508 мм (20 мил), если поверхностно-активное вещество используется с водой. Следует, однако, заметить, что данный метод не позволяет выявлять тонкие пятнышки на покрытии, даже если они толщиной 0,635 мм (25 мил). Метод может считаться неразрушающим из-за относительно низкого напряжения.

    1.3 Метод В предназначен для выявления пропусков типа булавочных отверстий и пустот в защитных покрытиях трубопроводов; но из-за более высоких прикладываемых напряжений его можно также использовать для выявления тонких пятнышек на покрытии. Данный метод можно использовать для любой толщины покрытий трубопроводов, и он использует прямое напряжение от 900 до 20 000 В.2 Метод считается разрушающим, поскольку высокие напряжения, как правило, разрушают покрытие в районе тонких пятнышек.

    1.4 Значения, указанные в единицах СИ с точностью до трех десятичных знаков, должны рассматриваться как стандартные. Значения в скобках приведены только для информации.

    1.5 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности и мер по охране здоровья, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта.

    2. Ссылочные документы

    A742/A742M Specification for Steel Sheet, Metallic Coated and Polymer Precoated for Corrugated Steel Pipe


    Ключевые слова

    детектор пропусков; пропуски; система трубопроводов; булавочное отверстие; детектор с мокрой губкой

ASTM G62 - 14

    Standard Test Methods for Holiday Detection in Pipeline Coatings

    Active Standard ASTM G62 | Developed by Subcommittee: D01.48

    Book of Standards Volume: 06.02


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 4 $37.00   ADD TO CART
    Hardcopy (shipping and handling) 4 $37.00   ADD TO CART
    Standard + Redline PDF Bundle 8 $44.40   ADD TO CART


    Significance and Use

    5.1 Method A—Method A describes a quick, safe method for determining if pinholes, voids, or metal particles are protruding through the coating. This method will not, however, find any thin spots in the coating. This method will determine the existence of any gross faults in thin-film pipeline coatings.

    5.2 Method B—Method B describes a method for determining if pinholes, voids, or metal particles are protruding through the coating, and thin spots in pipeline coatings. This method can be used to verify minimum coating thicknesses as well as voids in quality-control applications.

    1. Scope

    1.1 These test methods cover the apparatus and procedure for detecting holidays in pipeline type coatings.

    1.2 Method A is designed to detect holidays such as pinholes and voids in thin-film coatings from 0.025 to 0.254 mm (1 to 10 mils) in thickness using ordinary tap water and an applied voltage of less than 100 V d-c. It is effective on films up to 0.508 mm (20 mils) thickness if a wetting agent is used with the water. It should be noted, however, that this method will not detect thin spots in the coating. This may be considered to be a nondestructive test because of the relatively low voltage.

    1.3 Method B is designed to detect holidays such as pinholes and voids in pipeline coatings; but because of the higher applied voltages, it can also be used to detect thin spots in the coating. This method can be used on any thickness of pipeline coating and utilizes applied voltages between 900 and 20 000 V d-c.2 This method is considered destructive because the high voltages involved generally destroy the coating at thin spots.

    1.4 The values stated in SI units to three significant decimals are to be regarded as the standard. The values given in parentheses are for information only.

    1.5 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    A742/A742M Specification for Steel Sheet, Metallic Coated and Polymer Precoated for Corrugated Steel Pipe


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 23.040.99 (Other pipeline components)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code 32101519(Detectors)


    DOI: 10.1520/G0062-14

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    ASTM G62

    Citing ASTM Standards
    Back to Top