ASTM F1192 - 11

    Стандартное руководство по измерению одиночных сбоев, вызываемых облучением полупроводниковых приборов тяжелыми ионами

    Active Standard ASTM F1192 Developed by Subcommittee: F01.11

    Book of Standards Volume: 10.04


    Contact Jim S. Thomas for price quote.


    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More F01.11 Standards Related Products


    1. Область применения

    1.1 В данном Руководстве определены требования и процедуры испытаний интегральных схем и других электронных компонентов для определения фактов одиночных сбоев (SEP), вызываемых их облучением тяжелыми ионами с атомными номерами Z более 2. При этом специально исключается воздействие нейтронов, протонов и других более легких частиц, которые могут вызывать подобные явления за счет других механизмов взаимодействия. SEP включает в себя любые виды отказов, вызываемых бомбардировкой одиночным ионом, в том числе случайные (исправимые) сбои (одно или несколько одновременных обратимых изменений состояния битов), неисправимые сбои (необратимые изменения состояния битов), «защелкивание» (т.е. фиксация в состоянии с высокой проводимостью), кратковременные импульсы, возникающие в комбинированных устройствах (которые могут вызывать исправимые сбои (ошибки) в близлежащих микросхемах, перегорание мощных полевых транзисторов (FET) и пробой затвора. Данное испытание может считаться разрушающим, поскольку зачастую связано с удалением крышек с компонентов перед их облучением. Изменения состояния битов обычно связаны с цифровыми компонентам, а эффект «защелкивания» - с объемными комплементарными МОП-структурами (CMOS), однако вызываемые тяжелыми ионами SEP-сбои также могут наблюдаться в программируемых постоянных запоминающих устройствах (PROM) и некоторых линейных устройствах, которые могут реагировать на вызываемых тяжелыми ионами кратковременными изменениями заряда. Мощные транзисторы могут испытываться с помощью процедуры, указанной в Методе 1080 стандарта MILSTD 750.

    1.2 Описанные ниже процедуры могут использоваться для имитации и прогнозирования SEP-сбоев, возникающих в естественной космической среде при воздействии межгалактических космических лучей, захватываемых магнитным полем Земли ионов и хромосферных вспышек. Описанные методы, однако, не могут имитировать воздействие пучков тяжелых ионов, предлагаемые в военных программах. Конечный результат проведенного испытания – это график зависимости поперечного сечения SEP-сбоя от параметра LET (линейной потери энергии или энергии, выделяемой на пути пролета иона в полупроводнике). Эти данные могут рассматриваться совместно с конфигурацией (состоянием) системы формирования ионов для оценки частоты (коэффициента) системных сбоев.

    1.3 Хотя SEP-сбои могут вызывать и протоны, эти сбои в данном Руководстве не рассматриваются.

    1.4 Значения, выражаемые в единицах системы СИ, считаются стандартными, и никакие другие единицы измерений в данном стандарте не используются.

    1.5 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности и мер по охране здоровья, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта.

    2. Ссылочные документы

    750Method1080


    Ключевые слова

    SEB, SEE, SEFI, SEGR, SEL, SEP, SEU, сечение SEP, одиночное событие, эффект одиночного события, признак одиночного события, одиночный сбой, условия космического пространства.

ASTM F1192 - 11

    Standard Guide for the Measurement of Single Event Phenomena (SEP) Induced by Heavy Ion Irradiation of Semiconductor Devices

    Active Standard ASTM F1192 | Developed by Subcommittee: F01.11

    Book of Standards Volume: 10.04


    Buy Standard (PDF)
    11 pages
    $48.00
    Buy Standard (Print)
    11 pages
    $48.00
    Buy Standard + Redline (PDF)
    22 pages
    $57.60

    Historical (view previous versions of standard)

    Translated Standard: Russian
    more info


    ASTM F1192

    Significance and Use

    Many modern integrated circuits, power transistors, and other devices experience SEP when exposed to cosmic rays in interplanetary space, in satellite orbits or during a short passage through trapped radiation belts. It is essential to be able to predict the SEP rate for a specific environment in order to establish proper techniques to counter the effects of such upsets in proposed systems. As the technology moves toward higher density ICs, the problem is likely to become even more acute.

    This guide is intended to assist experimenters in performing ground tests to yield data enabling SEP predictions to be made.

    1. Scope

    1.1 This guide defines the requirements and procedures for testing integrated circuits and other devices for the effects of single event phenomena (SEP) induced by irradiation with heavy ions having an atomic number Z 2. This description specifically excludes the effects of neutrons, protons, and other lighter particles that may induce SEP via another mechanism. SEP includes any manifestation of upset induced by a single ion strike, including soft errors (one or more simultaneous reversible bit flips), hard errors (irreversible bit flips), latchup (persistent high conducting state), transients induced in combinatorial devices which may introduce a soft error in nearby circuits, power field effect transistor (FET) burn-out and gate rupture. This test may be considered to be destructive because it often involves the removal of device lids prior to irradiation. Bit flips are usually associated with digital devices and latchup is usually confined to bulk complementary metal oxide semiconductor, (CMOS) devices, but heavy ion induced SEP is also observed in combinatorial logic programmable read only memory, (PROMs), and certain linear devices that may respond to a heavy ion induced charge transient. Power transistors may be tested by the procedure called out in Method 1080 of MIL STD 750.

    1.2 The procedures described here can be used to simulate and predict SEP arising from the natural space environment, including galactic cosmic rays, planetary trapped ions, and solar flares. The techniques do not, however, simulate heavy ion beam effects proposed for military programs. The end product of the test is a plot of the SEP cross section (the number of upsets per unit fluence) as a function of ion LET (linear energy transfer or ionization deposited along the ion's path through the semiconductor). This data can be combined with the system's heavy ion environment to estimate a system upset rate.

    1.3 Although protons can cause SEP, they are not included in this guide. A separate guide addressing proton induced SEP is being considered.

    1.4 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as standard. No other units of measurement are included in this standard.

    1.5 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    Military Standard

    750Method1080


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 31.080.01 (Semi-conductor devices in general)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code 32111700(Semiconductor devices)


    DOI: 10.1520/F1192-11

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    ASTM F1192

    Citing ASTM Standards
    Back to Top