If you are an ASTM Compass Subscriber and this document is part of your subscription, you can access it for free at ASTM Compass
    ASTM E2412 - 10(2018)

    СТАНДАРТНАЯ МЕТОДИКА МОНИТОРИНГА СОСТОЯНИЯ СМАЗОК, НАХОДЯЩИХСЯ В ЭКСПЛУАТАЦИИ, МЕТОДОМ АНАЛИЗА ТРЕНДОВ С ПОМОЩЬЮ ИНФРАКРАСНОЙ СПЕКТРОМЕТРИИ НА ОСНОВЕ ПРЕОБРАЗОВАНИЯ ФУРЬЕ (FT-IR)

    Active Standard ASTM E2412 Developed by Subcommittee: D02.96.03

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.05


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 26 $97.00   ADD TO CART

    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D02.96.03 Standards Related Products


    Significance and Use

    5.1 Periodic sampling and analysis of lubricants have long been used as a means to determine overall machinery health. Atomic emission (AE) and atomic absorption (AA) spectroscopy are often employed for wear metal analysis (for example, Test Method D5185). A number of physical property tests complement wear metal analysis and are used to provide information on lubricant condition (for example, Test Methods D445, D2896, and D6304). Molecular analysis of lubricants and hydraulic fluids by FT-IR spectroscopy produces direct information on molecular species of interest, including additives, fluid breakdown products and external contaminants, and thus complements wear metal and other analyses used in a condition monitoring program (1,3-2).

    1. Область применения

    1.1 Данная методика распространяется на применение метода инфракрасной спектрометрии на основе преобразования Фурье (FT-IR) для мониторинга процессов истощения присадок, образования отложений и снижения качества исходных машинных смазочных материалов, рабочих жидкостей для гидросистем и других жидкостей, используемых в машиностроении. При этом контролируемыми загрязнениями являются вода, нагар, этиленгликоль, топлива и посторонние масла. Мониторинг снижения качества исходных смазок осуществляется по признакам их окисления, нитрования и сульфатирования. Целью подобного мониторинга является диагностика условий эксплуатации механизмов, проводимая по степени их повреждения. Ниже рассмотрены параметры измерений и интерпретации данных, позволяющие операторам различных FT-IR-спектрометров сравнивать результаты, применяя идентичные методы.

    1.2 Данная методика основана на анализе трендов и распределений плотности вероятности, получаемых путем измерений поглощения света в средней инфракрасной области спектра. Несмотря на то, что калибровка для получения физических единиц концентрации и возможна, во многих случаях необходимость или целесообразность ее проведения будут отсутствовать. Пределы для выдачи предупреждений или сигналов тревоги (точки, в которых рекомендуется или требуется проведение работ по техническому обслуживанию мониторируемого механизма) могут определяться посредством статистического анализа, анализа эксплуатации такого же или аналогичного оборудования, круговых испытаний или других методов, в сочетании схарактеристиками этого оборудования. Указанные пределы могут выбираться фиксированными минимальными или максимальными значениями для сравнения с каким-либо результатом измерений, или же могут основываться на скорости изменения измеренного отклика (1). Данная методика описывает распределения, однако не исключает использование сигналов предупреждений или тревоги, основанных на скорости изменения параметров.

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 1 — В данной методике не устанавливаются и не рекомендуются какие-либо пределы для выдачи любых стандартных, предостерегающих, предупреждающих или уведомительных сигналов для любого механизма. Подобные пределы должны устанавливаться на основании инструкций и рекомендаций изготовителя механизмов и групп технического обслуживания.

    1.3 Приведенные ниже спектры и профили распределений являются лишь иллюстративными и не должны рассматриваться как рекомендации по применению смазочных материалов. 1.4 Данная методика разрабатывалась как оперативная и простая спектроскопическая проверка с целью мониторинга состояния находящихся в эксплуатации смазочных материалов, которая может использоваться для упрощения определения состояния полной исправности механизмов посредством измерения их свойств, регистрируемых в средней инфракрасной области спектра, таких как содержание воды, степень окисления масла и др., как описано в 1.1. ИК-данные, получаемые с помощью данной методики, обычно используют в сочетании с результатами, получаемыми другими методами. Например, ИК-спектроскопия не позволяет определять уровень износа металлов или производить любой другой вид элементного анализа. В представленном виде данная методика не предназначена для прогнозирования физических свойств смазочных материалов (например, вязкости, общегощелочного числа, общего кислотного числа и др.). Данная методика рассчитана лишь на мониторинг состояния находящихся в эксплуатации смазочных материалов и может способствовать определению состояния полной исправности механизмов, но не предназначена для анализа состава смазок, их характеристик или составов композиций присадок.

    1.5 Значения, указанные в единицах системы СИ, считаютсястандартными. Никакие другие единицы измерения не включены в данный стандарт.

    1.6 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности и мер по охране здоровья и окружающей среды, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта.

    1.7 Данный международный стандарт был разработан в соответствии с международно-признанными принципами стандартизации, установленными Постановлением о принципах разработки международных стандартов, руководств и рекомендаций, выпущенным Комитетом по техническим барьерам в торговле (TБT) Всемирной торговой организации.

    2. Ссылочные документы

ASTM E2412 - 10

    Standard Practice for Condition Monitoring of Used Lubricants by Trend Analysis Using Fourier Transform Infrared (FT-IR) Spectrometry

    Active Standard ASTM E2412 | Developed by Subcommittee: D02.96

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.04


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 24 $62.00   ADD TO CART
    Hardcopy (shipping and handling) 24 $62.00   ADD TO CART


    Significance and Use

    Periodic sampling and analysis of lubricants have long been used as a means to determine overall machinery health. Atomic emission (AE) and atomic absorption (AA) spectroscopy are often employed for wear metal analysis (for example, Test Method D5185). A number of physical property tests complement wear metal analysis and are used to provide information on lubricant condition (for example, Test Methods D445, D2896, and D6304). Molecular analysis of lubricants and hydraulic fluids by FT-IR spectroscopy produces direct information on molecular species of interest, including additives, fluid breakdown products and external contaminants, and thus complements wear metal and other analyses used in a condition monitoring program (1,3-7).

    1. Scope

    1.1 This practice covers the use of FT-IR in monitoring additive depletion, contaminant buildup and base stock degradation in machinery lubricants, hydraulic fluids and other fluids used in normal machinery operation. Contaminants monitored include water, soot, ethylene glycol, fuels and incorrect oil. Oxidation, nitration and sulfonation of base stocks are monitored as evidence of degradation. The objective of this monitoring activity is to diagnose the operational condition of the machine based on fault conditions observed in the oil. Measurement and data interpretation parameters are presented to allow operators of different FT-IR spectrometers to compare results by employing the same techniques.

    1.2 This practice is based on trending and distribution response analysis from mid-infrared absorption measurements. While calibration to generate physical concentration units may be possible, it is unnecessary or impractical in many cases. Warning or alarm limits (the point where maintenance action on a machine being monitored is recommended or required) can be determined through statistical analysis, history of the same or similar equipment, round robin tests or other methods in conjunction with correlation to equipment performance. These warning or alarm limits can be a fixed maximum or minimum value for comparison to a single measurement or can also be based on a rate of change of the response measured (1). This practice describes distributions but does not preclude using rate-of-change warnings and alarms.

    Note 1—It is not the intent of this practice to establish or recommend normal, cautionary, warning or alert limits for any machinery. Such limits should be established in conjunction with advice and guidance from the machinery manufacturer and maintenance group.

    1.3 Spectra and distribution profiles presented herein are for illustrative purposes only and are not to be construed as representing or establishing lubricant or machinery guidelines.

    1.4 This practice is designed as a fast, simple spectroscopic check for condition monitoring of in-service lubricants and can be used to assist in the determination of general machinery health through measurement of properties observable in the mid-infrared spectrum such as water, oil oxidation, and others as noted in 1.1. The infrared data generated by this practice is typically used in conjunction with other testing methods. For example, infrared spectroscopy cannot determine wear metal levels or any other type of elemental analysis. The practice as presented is not intended for the prediction of lubricant physical properties (for example, viscosity, total base number, total acid number, etc.). This practice is designed for monitoring in-service lubricants and can aid in the determination of general machinery health and is not designed for the analysis of lubricant composition, lubricant performance or additive package formulations.

    1.5 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as standard. No other units of measurement are included in this standard.

    1.6 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D445 Test Method for Kinematic Viscosity of Transparent and Opaque Liquids (and Calculation of Dynamic Viscosity)

    D2896 Test Method for Base Number of Petroleum Products by Potentiometric Perchloric Acid Titration

    D4057 Practice for Manual Sampling of Petroleum and Petroleum Products

    D5185 Test Method for Determination of Additive Elements, Wear Metals, and Contaminants in Used Lubricating Oils and Determination of Selected Elements in Base Oils by Inductively Coupled Plasma Atomic Emission Spectrometry (ICP-AES)

    D6304 Test Method for Determination of Water in Petroleum Products, Lubricating Oils, and Additives by Coulometric Karl Fischer Titration

    E131 Terminology Relating to Molecular Spectroscopy

    E168 Practices for General Techniques of Infrared Quantitative Analysis

    E1421 Practice for Describing and Measuring Performance of Fourier Transform Mid-Infrared (FT-MIR) Spectrometers: Level Zero and Level One Tests

    E1655 Practices for Infrared Multivariate Quantitative Analysis

    ISO Standard

    ISO13372 Condition monitoring and diagnostics of machines -- Vocabulary


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 75.100 (Lubricants, industrial oils and related products)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code 15120000(Lubricants and oils and greases and anti)


    Referencing This Standard

    DOI: 10.1520/E2412-10

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    Citation Format

    ASTM E2412-10, Standard Practice for Condition Monitoring of Used Lubricants by Trend Analysis Using Fourier Transform Infrared (FT-IR) Spectrometry, ASTM International, West Conshohocken, PA, 2010, www.astm.org

    Back to Top