If you are an ASTM Compass Subscriber and this document is part of your subscription, you can access it for free at ASTM Compass
    ASTM D93 - 20

    Стандартные методы определения температуры вспышки в закрытом тигле Пенски-Мартенса

    Active Standard ASTM D93 Developed by Subcommittee: D02.08

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.01


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 46 $97.00   ADD TO CART

    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D02.08 Standards Related Products


    Significance and Use

    5. Значение и использование

    5.1 Температура вспышки является одной из мер тенденции образца для испытания образовывать горючую смесь с воздухом в контролируемых лабораторных условиях. Это только одна из ряда характеристик, которые должны учитываться при оценке общего риска воспламеняемости материала.

    5.2 Температуру вспышки используют в регламентах по безопасности и отгрузке, чтобы определить воспламеняемые и горючие материалы. Можно обратиться к определенному регламенту для точного описания этих классификаций.

    5.3 Данные методы испытаний следует применять для измерения и описания свойств материалов, изделий или узлов в ответ на нагревание и применение источника зажигания при контролируемых лабораторных условиях и не следует использовать для описания или оценки пожароопасности или риска возникновения пожара материалов, изделий или узлов в фактических пожароопасных условиях. Однако результаты данных методов испытаний можно использовать как элементы оценки пожарной опасности, которая принимает во внимание все факторы, которые присущи оценке этой пожарной опасности в отношении определенного конечного использования.

    5.4 Данные методы описывают только процедуры определения температуры вспышки в закрытом тигле для температур до 370 °С (698 °F).

    1. Область применения

    1. Область применения*

    1.1 Данные методы испытаний охватывают определение температуры вспышки нефтепродуктов в диапазоне температур от 40 °С до 370 °С на ручном и автоматическом приборе Пенски-Мартенса с закрытым тиглем и определение температуры вспышки биодизельного топ ива в диапазоне температур от 60 °С до 190 °C на автоматическом приборе Пенски-Мартенса с закрытым тиглем.

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 1 — Определение температуры вспышки при температуре выше 250 °С можно выпо нить, однако прецизионность результатов метода при температурах выше этого значения не определена. Для мазутного топлива прецизионность метода не определена для температур выше 100 °С. Прецизионность результатов используемых смазочных масел не была определена. Некоторые спец фикации из ряда D93 устанавливают мин мальную температуру вспышки ниже 40 °C, однако, прецизионность ниже этой температуры не была определена.

    1.2 Процедура А применима к дистиллятным топливам (дизельное топливо, биодизельные топливные смеси, керосин, печное топливо, топливо для турбореактивных двигателей), новым и используемым смазочным маслам и другим гомогенным нефтяным жидкостям, не включенным в перечень Процедуры В или Процедуры С.

    1.3 Процедура В применима к топочным мазутам, разбавленным мазутам, отработанным смазочным маслам, смесям нефтяных жидкостей с твердыми веществами, в которых образуется поверхностная пленка в условиях испытания, или нефтяным жидкостям с такой кинематической вязкостью, которая вызывает неравномерное нагревание в условиях перемешивания и нагревания Процедуры А.

    1.4 Процедура C применима к биодизельному топливу (B100). Так как температуру вспышки остаточного спирта в биодизельном топливе затруднительно определить ручными методами, было найдено, что подходящим будет автоматический прибор с электронным определением температуры вспышки.

    1.5 Данные методы испытаний применимы для обнаружения загрязнения относительно нелетучих или невоспламеняемых материалов летучими и легковоспламеняемыми материалами.

    1.6 Значения, указанные в единицах СИ, должны рассматриваться как стандартные.

    1.6.1 Исключение — Значения в скобках приведены только для информации.

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 2 — Многие десятилетия общей методикой измерения температуры в стандартах для определения температуры вспышки являлось попеременное использование термометров со шкалой Цельсия или Фаренгейта. Хотя эти шкалы близки в приращениях, они не эквивалентны. Поскольку термометр со шкалой Фаренгейта используемый в данной процедуре градуирован с делениями в 5 °F, то невозможно снимать с него показание в 2 °C эквивалентное приращению 3,6 °F. Поэтому, с целью применения процедуры данного метода испытаний для термометров с отдельными температурными шкалами, следует использовать разные приращения. В данном методе испытаний был утвержден следующий протокол: если намереваются преобразовывать температуру в эквивалентную, она указывается в скобках вслед за значением в единицах СИ, например 370 °C (698 °F). Если намереваются дать значение температуры в единицах по другой шкале, то ее указывают после слова «или», например, 2 °C или 5 °F.

    1.7 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности, мер по охране здоровья и окружающей среды, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта. Специальные положения о предупреждениях приведены в 6.4, 7.1, 9.3, 9.4, 11.1.2, 11.1.4, 11.1.8, 11.2.2 и 12.1.2.

    1.8 Данный международный стандарт был разработан в соответствии с международно-признанными принципами стандартизации, установленными Постановлением о принципах разработки международных стандартов, руководств и рекомендаций, выпущенным Комитетом по техническим барьерам в торговле (TБT) Всемирной торговой организации.

    2. Ссылочные документы

ASTM D93 - 13e1

    Standard Test Methods for Flash Point by Pensky-Martens Closed Cup Tester

    Active Standard ASTM D93 | Developed by Subcommittee: D02.08

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.01


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF Version 18 $48.00   ADD TO CART
    Print Version 18 $48.00   ADD TO CART


    Significance and Use

    5.1 The flash point temperature is one measure of the tendency of the test specimen to form a flammable mixture with air under controlled laboratory conditions. It is only one of a number of properties which must be considered in assessing the overall flammability hazard of a material.

    5.2 Flash point is used in shipping and safety regulations to define flammable and combustible materials. One should consult the particular regulation involved for precise definitions of these classifications.

    Note 3The U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)4 and U.S. Department of Labor (OSHA) have established that liquids with a flash point under 37.8°C (100°F) (see Note 1) are flammable, as determined by these test methods, for those liquids which have a kinematic viscosity of 5.8 mm 2/s (cSt) or more at 37.8°C or 9.5 mm 2/s (cSt) or more at 25°C (77°F), or that contain suspended solids, or have a tendency to form a surface film while under test. Other classification flash points have been established by these departments for liquids using these test methods.

    5.3 These test methods should be used to measure and describe the properties of materials, products, or assemblies in response to heat and an ignition source under controlled laboratory conditions and should not be used to describe or appraise the fire hazard or fire risk of materials, products, or assemblies under actual fire conditions. However, results of these test methods may be used as elements of a fire risk assessment which takes into account all of the factors which are pertinent to an assessment of the fire hazard of a particular end use.

    5.4 These test methods provide the only closed cup flash point test procedures for temperatures up to 370°C (698°F).

    1. Scope

    1.1 These test methods cover the determination of the flash point of petroleum products in the temperature range from 40 to 370°C by a manual Pensky-Martens closed-cup apparatus or an automated Pensky-Martens closed-cup apparatus, and the determination of the flash point of biodiesel in the temperature range of 60 to 190°C by an automated Pensky-Martens closed cup apparatus.

    Note 1Flash point determinations above 250°C can be performed, however, the precision has not been determined above this temperature. For residual fuels, precision has not been determined for flash points above 100°C. The precision of in-use lubricating oils has not been determined. Some specifications state a D93 minimum flash point below 40°C, however, the precision has not been determined below this temperature.

    1.2 Procedure A is applicable to distillate fuels (diesel, biodiesel blends, kerosine, heating oil, turbine fuels), new and in-use lubricating oils, and other homogeneous petroleum liquids not included in the scope of Procedure B or Procedure C.

    1.3 Procedure B is applicable to residual fuel oils, cutback residua, used lubricating oils, mixtures of petroleum liquids with solids, petroleum liquids that tend to form a surface film under test conditions, or are petroleum liquids of such kinematic viscosity that they are not uniformly heated under the stirring and heating conditions of Procedure A.

    1.4 Procedure C is applicable to biodiesel (B100). Since a flash point of residual alcohol in biodiesel is difficult to observe by manual flash point techniques, automated apparatus with electronic flash point detection have been found suitable.

    1.5 These test methods are applicable for the detection of contamination of relatively nonvolatile or nonflammable materials with volatile or flammable materials.

    1.6 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as the standard. The values given in parentheses are for information only.

    Note 2It has been common practice in flash point standards for many decades to alternately use a C–scale or an F–scale thermometer for temperature measurement. Although the scales are close in increments, they are not equivalent. Because the F–scale thermometer used in this procedure is graduated in 5° increments, it is not possible to read it to the 2°C equivalent increment of 3.6°F. Therefore, for the purposes of application of the procedure of the test method for the separate temperature scale thermometers, different increments must be used. In this test method, the following protocol has been adopted: When a temperature is intended to be a converted equivalent, it will appear in parentheses following the SI unit, for example 370°C (698°F). When a temperature is intended to be a rationalized unit for the alternate scale, it will appear after “or,” for example, 2°C or 5°F.

    1.7 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use. For specific warning statements, see 6.4, 7.1, 9.3, 9.4, 11.1.2, 11.1.4, 11.1.8, 11.2.2, and 12.1.2.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D56 Test Method for Flash Point by Tag Closed Cup Tester

    D3941 Test Method for Flash Point by the Equilibrium Method With a Closed-Cup Apparatus

    D4057 Practice for Manual Sampling of Petroleum and Petroleum Products

    D4177 Practice for Automatic Sampling of Petroleum and Petroleum Products

    E1 Specification for ASTM Liquid-in-Glass Thermometers

    E300 Practice for Sampling Industrial Chemicals

    E502 Test Method for Selection and Use of ASTM Standards for the Determination of Flash Point of Chemicals by Closed Cup Methods

    ISO Standards

    Guide 34 Quality Systems Guidelines for the Production of Reference Materials

    Guide 35 Certification of Reference Material--General and Statistical Principles


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 13.220.40 (Ignitability and burning behaviour of materials and products); 75.080 (Petroleum products in general); 75.160.20 (Liquid fuels)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code 41116301(Flash point testers)


    DOI: 10.1520/D0093

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    ASTM D93

    Citing ASTM Standards
    Back to Top