ASTM D859 - 16

    Стандартный метод определения содержания кремнезема в воде1

    Active Standard ASTM D859 Developed by Subcommittee: D19.05

    Book of Standards Volume: 11.01


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 19 $75.00   ADD TO CART

    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D19.05 Standards Related Products


    Significance and Use

    5.1 Кремний составляет порядка 28% литосферы и является, сразу после кислорода, наиболее распространенным элементом. Его обнаруживают в виде окисла в кристаллической форме, как например в кварце; в комбинации с другими окислами и металлами во множестве силикатов; и в аморфных формах. Кремний является наиболее распространенным элементом в вулканических породах и является характеристическим элементом всех важных пород, за исключением карбонатов. Он является каркасным материалом диатомовых водорослей, но не обнаружено, чтобы он играл существенную роль в структуре процессов высших форм жизни.

    5.2 Кремнезем слабо растворим в воде. Появление большинства кремнеземов в природной воде связано с постепенным размыванием кремнеземсодержащих минералов. Тип и состав кремнеземсодержащих минералов, контактирующих с водой, и pH воды являются основными факторами, влияющими как на растворимость, так и на форму кремнезема в конечном растворе. Кремнезем может существовать в виде взвешенных частиц, в виде коллоида или раствора. Он может быть мономерным или полимерным. В растворе он может существовать в виде кремниевой кислоты или ионов силиката, в зависимости от pH. Содержание кремнезема в природной воде обычно находится в диапазоне от 5 до 25 мг/л, однако иногда встречаются концентрации свыше 100 мг/л.

    5.3 Концентрация кремнезема является важной характеристикой для некоторых промышленных установок таких, как парогенераторы и системы водяного охлаждения. При некоторых условиях кремнезем образует причиняющие беспокойство кристаллы кремнезема и силиката, в частности на лопатках паровых турбин высокого давления. В системах водяного охлаждения кремнезем образует осадок, когда бывают превышены пределы растворимости. А с другой стороны кремнезем могут добавлять в некоторые системы в качестве специальной химической добавки, например для контроля коррозии. Удаление кремнезема обычно осуществляется с помощью ионообмена, дистилляции, обратного осмоса или осаждением, как правило, с использованием составов магния в процессе горячего или холодного известкования воды.

    1. Область применения

    1.1 Данный метод предназначен для определения содержания кремнезема в воде и сточной воде; однако аналитик должен осознавать, что показатели прецизионности и точности для растворов воды лабораторного назначения могут быть неприменимы к воде с отличающейся матрицей.

    1.2 Данный метод испытаний является колориметрическим методом, который позволяет определять молибдат-реактивный кремнезем. Он применим для большинства видов воды, но некоторые виды воды могут потребовать фильтрования или разбавления для устранения влияния цвета и мутности. Данный метод пригоден для концентраций порядка 20 мкг/л.

    1.3 Данный метод описывает фотометрическое определение содержания молибдат-реактивного кремнезема в воде. Из-за существующих сложностей в химии кремнеземов форма измеряемого кремнезема определяется аналитическим методом как молибдат-реактивный кремнезем. Эти молибдат-реактивные формы кремнезема включают в себя растворимые простые кремнеземы, мономерный кремнезем и кремниевую кислоту, а также неопределяемую фракцию полимерного кремнезема.

    1.4 Используемый диапазон данного метода испытаний составляет от 20 до 1000 мкг/л для верхней длины волны (815 нм) и от 0,1 до 5 мг/л для нижней длины волны (640 нм). В частности данный метод применим для очищенной промышленной воды. Он может применяться для природных и сточных вод после их фильтрации или разбавления, либо того и другого вместе. Для морской воды или соляных растворов данный метод применим только в том случае, если используются соответствующие матричные эталоны или методики эталонных добавок.

    1.5 Значения, указанные в единицах СИ, должны рассматриваться как стандартные. Никакие другие единицы измерения не включены в данный стандарт.

    1.6 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности и мер по охране здоровья, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта.

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 1 — Для многих видов природной воды измерение молибдат-реактивного кремнезема с помощью данного метода дает достаточно хорошее приближенное значение общего содержания кремнезема, а на практике колориметрический метод часто заменяет собой другие затратные по времени методики. Он применим тогда, когда, как это часто случается, молибдат-реактивный кремнезем представлен в интервале концентраций в миллиграммах на литр, а немолибдат-реактивный кремнезем, если он вообще присутствует, представлен в микрограммах на литр.

    1.7 Предыдущий Метод испытаний A (Гравиметрический — Общее содержание кремнезема) был отменен. В части исторической справки см. Приложение X1.

    2. Ссылочные документы

ASTM D859 - 10

    Standard Test Method for Silica in Water

    Active Standard ASTM D859 | Developed by Subcommittee: D19.05

    Book of Standards Volume: 11.01


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 5 $43.00   ADD TO CART
    Hardcopy (shipping and handling) 5 $43.00   ADD TO CART
    Standard + Redline PDF Bundle 10 $51.60   ADD TO CART


    Significance and Use

    Silicon comprises about 28 % of the lithosphere and is, next to oxygen, the most abundant element. It is found as the oxide in crystalline forms, as in quartz; combined with other oxides and metals in a variety of silicates; and in amorphous forms. Silicon is the most abundant element in igneous rocks and is the characteristic element of all important rocks except the carbonates. It is the skeletal material of diatoms but is not known to play a significant role in the structure of processes of higher life forms.

    Silica is only slightly soluble in water. The presence of most silica in natural waters comes from the gradual degradation of silica-containing minerals. The type and composition of the silica-containing minerals in contact with the water and the pH of the water are the primary factors controlling both the solubility and the form of silica in the resulting solution. Silica may exist in suspended particles, as a colloid, or in solution. It may be monomeric or polymeric. In solution it can exist as silicic acid or silicate ion, depending upon pH. The silica content of natural waters is commonly in the 5 to 25 mg/L range, although concentrations over 100 mg/L occur in some areas.

    Silica concentration is an important consideration in some industrial installations such as steam generation and cooling water systems. Under certain conditions, silica forms troublesome silica and silicate scales, particularly on high-pressure steam turbine blades. In cooling water systems, silica forms deposits when solubility limits are exceeded. In contrast, silica may be added as a treatment chemical in some systems, for example, in corrosion control. Silica removal is commonly accomplished by ion exchange, distillation, reverse osmosis, or by precipitation, usually with magnesium compounds in a hot or cold lime softening process.

    1. Scope

    1.1 This test method covers the determination of silica in water and waste water; however, the analyst should recognize that the precision and accuracy statements for reagent water solutions may not apply to waters of different matrices.

    1.2 This test method is a colorimetric method that determines molybdate-reactive silica. It is applicable to most waters, but some waters may require filtration and dilution to remove interferences from color and turbidity. This test method is useful for concentrations as low as 20 μg/L.

    1.3 This test method covers the photometric determination of molybdate-reactive silica in water. Due to the complexity of silica chemistry, the form of silica measured is defined by the analytical method as molybdate-reactive silica. Those forms of silica that are molybdate-reactive include dissolved simple silicates, monomeric silica and silicic acid, and an undetermined fraction of polymeric silica.

    1.4 The useful range of this test method is from 20 to 1000 μg/L at the higher wavelength (815 nm) and 0.1 to 5 mg/L at the lower wavelength (640 nm). It is particularly applicable to treated industrial waters. It may be applied to natural waters and wastewaters following filtration or dilution, or both. For seawater or brines, this test method is applicable only if matched matrix standards or standard addition techniques are employed.

    1.5 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as standard. No other units of measurement are included in this standard.

    1.6 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use.

    Note 1—For many natural waters, a measurement of molybdate-reactive silica by this test method provides a close approximation of total silica, and, in practice, the colorimetric method is frequently substituted for other more time-consuming techniques. This is acceptable when, as frequently occurs, the molybdate-reactive silica is in the milligram per litre concentration range while the nonmolybdate-reactive silica, if present at all, is in the microgram per litre concentration range.

    1.7 Former Test Method A (GravimetricTotal Silica) was discontinued. Refer to Appendix X1 for historical information.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D1066 Practice for Sampling Steam

    D1129 Terminology Relating to Water

    D1193 Specification for Reagent Water

    D2777 Practice for Determination of Precision and Bias of Applicable Test Methods of Committee D19 on Water

    D3370 Practices for Sampling Water from Closed Conduits

    D4841 Practice for Estimation of Holding Time for Water Samples Containing Organic and Inorganic Constituents

    D5810 Guide for Spiking into Aqueous Samples

    D5847 Practice for Writing Quality Control Specifications for Standard Test Methods for Water Analysis

    E60 Practice for Analysis of Metals, Ores, and Related Materials by Spectrophotometry

    E275 Practice for Describing and Measuring Performance of Ultraviolet and Visible Spectrophotometers


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 13.060.50 (Examination of water for chemical substances)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code


    DOI: 10.1520/D0859-10

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    ASTM D859

    Citing ASTM Standards
    Back to Top