ASTM D5904 - 02(2009)

    Стандартный метод определения общего содержания углерода, неорганического углерода и органического углерода в воде с помощью ультрафиолетового персульфатного окисления и мембранной проводимости

    Active Standard ASTM D5904 Developed by Subcommittee: D19.06

    Book of Standards Volume: 11.02


    Contact Jim S. Thomas for price quote.


    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D19.06 Standards Related Products


    1. Область применения

    1.1 Данный метод используется для определения общего содержания углерода (ОУ), неорганического углерода (НУ) и органического углерода (ООУ) в воде в интервале концентраций от 0,5 до 30 мг/л. Более высокие уровни концентрации могут определяться при помощи разбавления пробы. В данном методе используется ультрафиолетовое персульфатное окисление органического углерода в сочетании с селективной мембраной CO2 для регенерации CO2 в деионизированную воду. Измеряется изменение проводимости деионизированной воды и соотносится с концентрацией углерода в окисленной пробе. Аналогично определяется содержание неорганического углерода без требования к окислению. В обоих случаях проба окисляется, чтобы облегчить регенерацию CO2 при прохождении через мембрану. Соотношение между измерением проводимости и концентрацией углерода описывается системой хемометрических уравнений для химического равновесия CO2, HCO3 –, H+, и соотношением между концентрациями ионов и проводимостью. Хемометрическая модель включает температурную зависимость констант равновесия и удельных проводимостей.

    1.2 Данный метод имеет преимущество, так как использует детектор с очень высокой чувствительностью, обеспечивающей очень низкие уровни обнаружения в относительно небольших объемах пробы. Также использование двух измерительных каналов позволяет определять CO2 в пробе независимо от органического углерода. Отделение детектора проводимости от пробы селективной мембраной CO2 обеспечивает очень стабильную калибровку с минимальными помехами.

    1.3 Данный метод успешно использовался с водой чистой для анализа с добавлением бикарбоната натрия и различных органических веществ. Пользователь несет ответственность за обеспечение достоверности данного метода для воды с неисследованными матрицами.

    1.4 Данный метод определения применим только для углеродсодержащих веществ в пробе, которые могут быть введены в зону реакции. Размер отверстия инжектора обычно ограничивает максимальный размер вводимых включений.

    1.5 Кроме лабораторного анализа данный метод определения может применяться для оперативного мониторинга.

    1.6 Величины, указанные в единицах системы СИ, считаются стандартными. Никакие другие единицы измерения не включены в данный стандарт.

    1.7 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности и мер по охране здоровья, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта.

    2. Ссылочные документы

    D1129 Terminology Relating to Water

    D1192 Guide for Equipment for Sampling Water and Steam in Closed Conduits

    D1193 Specification for Reagent Water

    D2777 Practice for Determination of Precision and Bias of Applicable Test Methods of Committee D19 on Water

    D3370 Practices for Sampling Water from Closed Conduits

    D5810 Guide for Spiking into Aqueous Samples

    D5847 Practice for Writing Quality Control Specifications for Standard Test Methods for Water Analysis


    Ключевые слова

    углерод, углекислый газ, неорганический углерод, низкотемпературное окисление, детектирование с помощью мембранной проводимости, органический углерод, общее содержание углерода

ASTM D5904 - 02(2009)

    Standard Test Method for Total Carbon, Inorganic Carbon, and Organic Carbon in Water by Ultraviolet, Persulfate Oxidation, and Membrane Conductivity Detection

    Active Standard ASTM D5904 | Developed by Subcommittee: D19.06

    Book of Standards Volume: 11.02


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 8 $42.00   ADD TO CART
    Hardcopy (shipping and handling) 8 $42.00   ADD TO CART
    Standard + Redline PDF Bundle 16 $50.40   ADD TO CART


    Significance and Use

    This test method is used for determination of the carbon content of water from a variety of natural, domestic, and industrial sources. In its most common form, this test method is used to measure organic carbon as a means of monitoring organic pollutants in high purity and drinking water. These measurements are also used in monitoring waste treatment processes.

    The relationship of TOC to other water quality parameters such as chemical oxygen demand (COD) and total oxygen demand (TOD) is described in the literature.

    1. Scope

    1.1 This test method covers the determination of total carbon (TC), inorganic carbon (IC), and total organic carbon (TOC) in water in the range from 0.5 to 30 mg/L of carbon. Higher levels may be determined by sample dilution. The test method utilizes ultraviolet-persulfate oxidation of organic carbon, coupled with a CO2 selective membrane to recover the CO2 into deionized water. The change in conductivity of the deionized water is measured and related to carbon concentration in the oxidized sample. Inorganic carbon is determined in a similar manner without the requirement for oxidation. In both cases, the sample is acidified to facilitate CO2 recovery through the membrane. The relationship between the conductivity measurement and carbon concentration is described by a set of chemometric equations for the chemical equilibrium of CO2, HCO3, H+, and the relationship between the ionic concentrations and the conductivity. The chemometric model includes the temperature dependence of the equilibrium constants and the specific conductances.

    1.2 This test method has the advantage of a very high sensitivity detector that allows very low detection levels on relatively small volumes of sample. Also, use of two measurement channels allows determination of CO2 in the sample independently of organic carbon. Isolation of the conductivity detector from the sample by the CO2 selective membrane results in a very stable calibration, with minimal interferences.

    1.3 This test method was used successfully with reagent water spiked with sodium bicarbonate and various organic materials. It is the user's responsibility to ensure the validity of this test method for waters of untested matrices.

    1.4 This test method is applicable only to carbonaceous matter in the sample that can be introduced into the reaction zone. The injector opening size generally limits the maximum size of particles that can be introduced.

    1.5 In addition to laboratory analyses, this test method may be applied to on line monitoring.

    1.6 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as standard. No other units of measurement are included in this standard.

    1.7 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D1129 Terminology Relating to Water

    D1192 Guide for Equipment for Sampling Water and Steam in Closed Conduits

    D1193 Specification for Reagent Water

    D2777 Practice for Determination of Precision and Bias of Applicable Test Methods of Committee D19 on Water

    D3370 Practices for Sampling Water from Closed Conduits

    D5810 Guide for Spiking into Aqueous Samples

    D5847 Practice for Writing Quality Control Specifications for Standard Test Methods for Water Analysis


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 13.060.50 (Examination of water for chemical substances)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code


    DOI: 10.1520/D5904-02R09

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    ASTM D5904

    Citing ASTM Standards
    Back to Top