ASTM D5391 - 14

    Стандартный метод определения удельной электропроводности и удельного электрического сопротивления пробы высокочистой проточной воды

    Active Standard ASTM D5391 Developed by Subcommittee: D19.03

    Book of Standards Volume: 11.01


    Contact Jim S. Thomas for price quote.


    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D19.03 Standards Related Products


    Significance and Use

    5.1 Измерения удельной электропроводности обычно проводятся на пробах от средней до высокой ионной силы, когда загрязнение открытых проб в обычных лабораторных условиях незначительно. В таких условиях подходит стандартная температурная компенсация с использованием коэффициентов от 1 до 3% показания на градус Цельсия в широких интервалах концентрации. Напротив, данный метод определения требует специальных мер для снижения загрязнения микропримесями и введения высоких и переменных температурных коэффициентов для проб чистой воды, которые могут достигать 7% показания на градус Цельсия. Кроме того, рабочие характеристики измерительного прибора должны быть проверены в условиях высокочистой воды.

    5.2 Данный метод определения применим для обнаружения следовых количеств ионных примесей в воде. Он является первичным средством контроля процесса деминерализации и других операций по обработке высокочистой воды. Этот метод также используется для обнаружения ионных примесей в котловой воде, промывочной воде для микроэлектронной промышленности, воде для технологических нужд фармацевтического производства и т.д., а также для контроля и регулирования уровня реагентов для обработки воды водно-химического режима контура паровых котлов и энергоустановок. Данный метод определения дополняет основные требования к измерениям Методов испытаний D 1125, D 2186 и D 4519.

    5.3 При очень малых уровнях загрязнения щелочью, например, 0-1 мкг/л NaOH, электропроводность подавляется и фактически может быть несколько ниже теоретического значения для чистой воды. (1 и 2)4 Щелочные вещества понижают концентрацию ионов водорода с высокой проводимостью, замещая их ионами натрия и гидроксид-ионами с более низкой проводимостью. Такое явление само по себе не создает помех при измерении удельной электропроводности и удельного электрического сопротивления, но может давать недостоверные показания предполагаемой чистоты воды в этом диапазоне, если оно не установлено.

    1. Область применения

    1.1 Данный метод используется для определения удельной электропроводности и удельного электрического сопротивления проб высокочистой воды ниже 10 мкСм/см (выше 0,1 Мом·см). Метод применим как для непрерывных, так и для периодических измерений, но в любом случае вода должна быть проточной, чтобы обеспечить представительную пробу. Отбор статических проб черпаком не может использоваться для такой высокочистой воды. Непрерывные измерения проводят непосредственно на технологических линиях чистой воды или на боковых потоках пробоотборных линий, чтобы обеспечить измерения проб при высокой температуре и/или высоком давлении.

    1.2 Значения, указанные в единицах СИ, должны рассматриваться как стандартные. Никакие другие единицы измерения не включены в данный стандарт.

    1.3 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности и мер по охране здоровья, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта.

    2. Ссылочные документы

    D1066 Practice for Sampling Steam

    D1125 Test Methods for Electrical Conductivity and Resistivity of Water

    D1129 Terminology Relating to Water

    D1192 Guide for Equipment for Sampling Water and Steam in Closed Conduits

    D1193 Specification for Reagent Water

    D2186 Test Methods for Deposit-Forming Impurities in Steam

    D2777 Practice for Determination of Precision and Bias of Applicable Test Methods of Committee D19 on Water

    D3370 Practices for Sampling Water from Closed Conduits

    D3864 Guide for On-Line Monitoring Systems for Water Analysis

    D4519 Test Method for On-Line Determination of Anions and Carbon Dioxide in High Purity Water by Cation Exchange and Degassed Cation Conductivity

ASTM D5391 - 14

    Standard Test Method for Electrical Conductivity and Resistivity of a Flowing High Purity Water Sample

    Active Standard ASTM D5391 | Developed by Subcommittee: D19.03

    Book of Standards Volume: 11.01


    Buy Standard (PDF)
    8 pages
    $42.00
    Buy Standard (Print)
    8 pages
    $42.00
    Buy Standard + Redline (PDF)
    16 pages
    $50.40

    Historical (view previous versions of standard)


    ASTM D5391

    Significance and Use

    5.1 Conductivity measurements are typically made on samples of moderate to high ionic strength where contamination of open samples in routine laboratory handling is negligible. Under those conditions, standard temperature compensation using coefficients of 1 to 3 % of reading per degree Celsius over wide concentration ranges is appropriate. In contrast, this test method requires special considerations to reduce trace contamination and accommodates the high and variable temperature coefficients of pure water samples that can range as high as 7 % of reading per degree Celsius. In addition, measuring instrument design performance must be proven under high purity conditions.

    5.2 This test method is applicable for detecting trace amounts of ionic contaminants in water. It is the primary means of monitoring the performance of demineralization and other high purity water treatment operations. It is also used to detect ionic contamination in boiler waters, microelectronics rinse waters, pharmaceutical process waters, etc., as well as to monitor and control the level of boiler and power plant cycle chemistry treatment chemicals. This test method supplements the basic measurement requirements for Test Methods D1125, D2186, and D4519.

    5.3 At very low levels of alkaline contamination, for example, 0–1 μg/L NaOH, conductivity is suppressed, and can actually be slightly below the theoretical value for pure water. (1 and 2)4 Alkaline materials suppress the highly conductive hydrogen ion concentration while replacing it with less conductive sodium and hydroxide ions. This phenomenon is not an interference with conductivity or resistivity measurement itself but could give misleading indications of inferred water purity in this range if it is not recognized.

    1. Scope

    1.1 This test method covers the determination of electrical conductivity and resistivity of high purity water samples below 10 μS/cm (above 0.1 Mohm-cm). It is applicable to both continuous and periodic measurements but in all cases, the water must be flowing in order to provide representative sampling. Static grab sampling cannot be used for such high purity water. Continuous measurements are made directly in pure water process lines, or in side stream sample lines to enable measurements on high temperature or high pressure samples, or both.

    1.2 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as standard. No other units of measurement are included in this standard.

    1.3 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D1066 Practice for Sampling Steam

    D1125 Test Methods for Electrical Conductivity and Resistivity of Water

    D1129 Terminology Relating to Water

    D1192 Guide for Equipment for Sampling Water and Steam in Closed Conduits

    D1193 Specification for Reagent Water

    D2186 Test Methods for Deposit-Forming Impurities in Steam

    D2777 Practice for Determination of Precision and Bias of Applicable Test Methods of Committee D19 on Water

    D3370 Practices for Sampling Water from Closed Conduits

    D3864 Guide for On-Line Monitoring Systems for Water Analysis

    D4519 Test Method for On-Line Determination of Anions and Carbon Dioxide in High Purity Water by Cation Exchange and Degassed Cation Conductivity


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 13.060.60 (Examination of water for physical properties)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code


    DOI: 10.1520/D5391

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    ASTM D5391

    Citing ASTM Standards
    Back to Top