ASTM D4749 - 87(2012)

    Стандартный метод гранулометрического анализа угля и система обозначений размеров гранул угля

    Active Standard ASTM D4749 Developed by Subcommittee: D05.07

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.06


    Contact Jim S. Thomas for price quote.


    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D05.07 Standards Related Products


    Significance and Use

    4.1 Данный метод определяет порядок просеивания угля во фракции. Это позволяет определить характеристики материала в части распределения размеров гранул угля, необходимые для установления порядка его дальнейшей переработки и для коммерческих целей. Данные требования установлены в Части А настоящего стандарта. Данный метод применим как для сырого, так и для переработанного (дробленого, обогащенного или сортированного) угля.

    4.2 Данный метод гранулометрического анализа применим для всех типов угля за исключением распыленных углей (см. Метод D 197), сжигаемых в паровых котлах. Угли нижних сортов (лигниты, полубитуминозные угли и битуминозные угли с высоким содержанием летучих компонентов) должны быть тщательно осушены. Они требуют осторожного обращения для минимизации ухудшения качества и устранения дополнительного измельчения во время просеивания.

    4.3 Данный метод применим как для мокрого, так и для или сухого просеивания углей с размером гранул от 200 мм (8 дюймов) до 38 мкм (стандарты США серии № 400). Методы гранулометрического анализа углей с размером частиц менее 38 мкм в настоящем стандарте не рассматриваются. ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 2 — Гранулометрический анализ материалов, проходящих сквозь сито 38 мкм, обычно выполняется средствами оптической микроскопии, осаждением, центрифугированием, анализом светорассеяния или затемнения, измерением площади поверхности или другими аналогичными методами. Иногда используются технологии дополнительного уменьшения границы просеивания.

    4.4 Данный метод гранулометрического анализа также устанавливает обозначение пробы угля, задавая верхний (номинальный наибольший) и нижний (номинальный наименьший) предельные размеры гранул, необходимые для определения характеристик материала, для его дальнейшей переработки и для коммерческих целей. Данные требования установлены в Части В настоящего стандарта. Для обозначения антрацитных углей ниже используется термин, состоящий из одного слова (см. 14.4).

    4.5 В отдельных случаях для выполнения некоторых процедур гранулометрического анализа, например, анализа обогатимости угля, собранного материала может оказаться недостаточно (см. Метод испытаний D 4371).

    1. Область применения

    1.1 Данный метод испытаний охватывает процедуры гранулометрического анализа угля и систему обозначений размеров гранул угля по результатам гранулометрического анализа. Метод используется как для сырых, так и для переработанных (дробленых, обогащенных или сортированных) углей.

    1.2 Данный метод испытаний объясняет как обозначать размеры гранул угля по результатам гранулометрического анализа, используемые при выставлении угля на продажу. При использовании специальных смесей или углей с гранулами сильно отличающихся размеров, необходимо выполнить достаточно полный гранулометрический анализ для правильного описания фактического распределения размеров гранул.

    1.3 Данный метод гранулометрического анализа и система обозначений размеров гранул неприменимы для распыленных углей (см. прим. 1.) Данный метод применим для фракций гранулометрического состава не менее 38 мкм (см. Стандарт США № 400). Методы анализа гранулометрического состава фракций менее 38 мкм (№ 400) в настоящее время разрабатываются комитетом по стандартам. ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 1 — Относительно угольной пыли или угольного порошка в состоянии после сжигания в паровых котлах, см. Метод испытаний D 197.

    1.4 Значения, указанные в единицах СИ, должны рассматриваться как стандартные. Значения в скобках приведены только для информации. Значения, выраженные в каждой из систем, не являются в точности эквивалентными, поэтому каждую систему необходимо использовать независимо от другой, без объединения значений

    1.5 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности и мер по охране здоровья, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта.

    2. Ссылочные документы

    D197 Test Method for Sampling and Fineness Test of Pulverized Coal

    D2013 Practice for Preparing Coal Samples for Analysis

    D2234/D2234M Practice for Collection of a Gross Sample of Coal

    D3302 Test Method for Total Moisture in Coal

    D346 Practice for Collection and Preparation of Coke Samples for Laboratory Analysis

    D388 Classification of Coals by Rank

    D4371 Test Method for Determining the Washability Characteristics of Coal

    E11 Specification for Woven Wire Test Sieve Cloth and Test Sieves

    E323 Specification for Perforated-Plate Sieves for Testing Purposes

    Specification C-80 Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Department of General Services, Bureau of Purchases, Specification for Coal:Anthracite Available from Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Dept. of General Services, Bureau of Purchases, 414 N. Office Building, Harrisburg, PA 17125.

ASTM D4749 - 87(2012)

    Standard Test Method for Performing the Sieve Analysis of Coal and Designating Coal Size

    Active Standard ASTM D4749 | Developed by Subcommittee: D05.07

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.06


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 10 $42.00   ADD TO CART
    Hardcopy (shipping and handling) 10 $42.00   ADD TO CART


    Significance and Use

    4.1 This test method concerns the sieving of coal into designated size fractions for the purpose of characterizing the material as to its particle size distribution for further processing or for commercial purposes. This is covered in Part A of this standard. Raw, as well as prepared (crushed, cleaned, or screened), coals can be tested by this test method.

    4.2 This test method is applicable for all types of coals, except for pulverized coals (see Method D197) such as fed into steam boilers. Low rank coals, that is, lignites, subbituminous, and high volatile bituminous C, must be dried with caution and handled with care to minimize deterioration or size degradation during sieving.

    4.3 This test method is applicable for the wet or dry-sieving of coal at sizes from 200 mm (8 in.) to 38 μm (No. 400 U.S.A. Standard). Methods for sizing materials below 38 μm are outside the scope of this test method.

    Note 2The sizing of material that passes the 38 μm sieve is normally performed by optical microscopy, sedimentation, centrifugation, light scattering or obfuscation, surface area measurement, or other such methods. Subsieve techniques are also used sometimes.

    4.4 This test method also concerns the designation of a coal sample as to its upper (nominal top-size) and lower (nominal bottom-size) limiting sizes for the purpose of characterizing the material for further processing or for commercial purposes. This is covered in Part B of this test method. Anthracite coal is further designated by a one word descriptive term (see 14.4).

    4.5 Enough material may not be collected by this test method to meet subsequent test procedures, such as washability analyses (Test Method D4371).

    PART  A. SIEVE  ANALYSIS  OF  COAL

    1. Scope

    1.1 This test method covers procedures for determining the sieve analysis of coal and designating the size of coal from sieve analysis data. Raw as well as prepared (crushed, cleaned or screened) coals can be tested by this test method.

    1.2 This test method explains how to designate coal sizes from the results of sieve analysis data in order to represent the condition of the coal as sold. In the case of special mixtures or coals with noncontinuous ranges of sizes, a sufficiently complete sieve analysis must be made to properly describe the size distribution.

    1.3 This test method is not applicable for determining the sieve analysis nor for designating the size of pulverized coal. (See Note 1.) Size fractions down to and including 38 μm (No. 400 U.S.A. Standard Series) can be treated by the methods discussed in this test method. Methods for handling size fractions below 38 μm (No. 400) will be developed by this committee.

    Note 1For powdered or pulverized coal as is fired into steam boilers, refer to Test Method D197.

    1.4 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as standard. The values given in parentheses are for information only. The values stated in each system may not be exact equivalents; therefore, each system must be used independently of the other, without combining values in any way.

    1.5 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D197 Test Method for Sampling and Fineness Test of Pulverized Coal

    D346 Practice for Collection and Preparation of Coke Samples for Laboratory Analysis

    D388 Classification of Coals by Rank

    D2013 Practice for Preparing Coal Samples for Analysis

    D2234/D2234M Practice for Collection of a Gross Sample of Coal

    D3302 Test Method for Total Moisture in Coal

    D4371 Test Method for Determining the Washability Characteristics of Coal

    E11 Specification for Woven Wire Test Sieve Cloth and Test Sieves

    E323 Specification for Perforated-Plate Sieves for Testing Purposes

    Other Document

    SpecificationC-80 Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Department of General Services, Bureau of Purchases, Specification for Coal:Anthracite Available from Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Dept. of General Services, Bureau of Purchases, 414 N. Office Building, Harrisburg, PA 17125.


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 19.120 (Particle size analysis. Sieving)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code 15101601(Coal)


    DOI: 10.1520/D4749-87R12

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    ASTM D4749

    Citing ASTM Standards
    Back to Top