ASTM D4373 - 14

    СТАНДАРТНЫЙ МЕТОД БЫСТРОГО ОПРЕДЕЛЕНИЯ СОДЕРЖАНИЯ КАРБОНАТОВ В ГРУНТАХ

    Active Standard ASTM D4373 Developed by Subcommittee: D18.06

    Book of Standards Volume: 04.08


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 16 $97.00   ADD TO CART

    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D18.06 Standards Related Products


    Significance and Use

    5.1 Настоящий метод используется для определения наличия и количества карбонатов в образце грунта на основе кальцитового эквивалента. Данный метод предназначен для определения показателя примерного содержания карбонатов для характеристики морского грунта. Существуют другие методы (например, Метод C25 и Метод D3042) для оценки эквивалентности карбоната кальция, с целью характеристического использования известковых материалов в качестве модификаторов грунта или сельскохозяйственных крепёжных материалов.

    5.1.1 Карбонаты кальция (CaCO3) известны своими связывающими свойствами, они растворимы в воде при pH < 7 и являются мягкими материалами по шкале Мооса в сравнении с другими грунтовыми минералами.

    5.2 Данный метод имеет следующие ограничения:

    5.2.1 Если измеряются низкие концентрации карбонатов (кальцитовые эквиваленты), пользователь не знает, имеет ли грунт низкое содержание карбонатов, или же содержит церуссит, витерит и т.п., которые являются разновидностями карбонатов, и реакции которых с соляной кислотой очень замедлены или ограничены.

    5.2.2 Для некоторых разновидностей карбонатов (таких как доломит) продолжительность испытаний может быть длительной (более 1 ч), если требуются кальцитовые эквиваленты в пределах примерно 1 %.

    5.2.3 Влияние гранулометрического состава образца, продолжительности испытаний, показателя pH и массы образца описаны в справочной литературе.3

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 1 — Качество результата, полученного с помощью данного метода, зависит от квалификации персонала, проводящего испытания, а также от соответствия применяемого оборудования и устройств. Организации, отвечающие критериям Методики D3740, как правило, считаются способными проводить компетентные и объективные испытания, отбор проб, проверки и т.д. Пользователи данного стандарта должны иметь в виду, что соответствие Методике D3740 само по себе не является гарантией достоверных результатов. Достоверность результатов зависит от многих факторов; в Методике D3740 приводятся средства оценки некоторых из этих факторов

    1. Область применения

    1.1 Настоящий метод применяется для определения содержания карбонатов в грунтах и рыхлых породах, которые легко подвергаются разрушению с помощью механического усилия. Это газометрический метод, в котором используется простое переносное оборудование. Результаты должны быть четко указаны как процентный кальцитовый эквивалент, так как разные виды карбонатов охватывают широкий диапазон процентного содержания кальцитового эквивалента, как указано ниже для ряда карбонатов:

    Например, 100% доломит предположительно даст кальцитовый эквивалент 108,6 %, тогда как 100 % сидерит даст кальцитовый эквивалент лишь 86,4 %. Реакции кальцита и арагонита обычно завершаются в течение примерно 10 мин. Настоящий метод не различает разновидности карбонатов; такое определение должно проводиться с помощью количественных методов химического анализа, например, атомной абсорбции.

    1.2 Единицы измерения — Значения, указанные в единицах системы СИ, считаются стандартными.

    1.3 Все наблюдаемые и расчетные значения должны соответствовать указаниям по значащим цифрам и округлению, установленным в Методике D6026.

    1.3.1 Процедуры, применяемые для установления метода сбора/записи или расчета данных, в данном стандарте рассматриваются как отраслевой стандарт. Кроме того, они представляют значащие цифры, которые обычно сохраняются. Применяемые процедуры не рассматривают изменчивость материала, цель получения данных, исследования специального назначения, а также какие-либо аспекты, касающиеся целей пользователя; установившейся практикой является увеличение или уменьшение количества значащих цифр в указываемых данных для соответствия этим аспектам. Учет значащих цифр, используемых в аналитических методах для технического проектирования, находится за рамками области применения данного метода

    1.4 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности и мер по охране здоровья, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта. Конкретные меры предосторожности см. в Разделе 8.

    2. Ссылочные документы

ASTM D4373 - 14

    Standard Test Method for Rapid Determination of Carbonate Content of Soils

    Active Standard ASTM D4373 | Developed by Subcommittee: D18.06

    Book of Standards Volume: 04.08


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 5 $43.00   ADD TO CART
    Hardcopy (shipping and handling) 5 $43.00   ADD TO CART
    Standard + Redline PDF Bundle 10 $51.60   ADD TO CART


    Significance and Use

    5.1 This test method is used to determine the presence and quantity of carbonate in a soil specimen in terms of the calcite equivalent. The method is generally intended for use as an index of approximate carbonate content to assist with characterizing marine soils. Other test methods exist (such as Method C25 and Test Method D3042) to evaluate calcium carbonate equivalency for purposes of characterizing use of calcareous materials as soil modifiers or agricultural lining materials.

    5.1.1 Calcium carbonates (CaCO3) are known cementing agents, are water soluble at pH < 7, and are soft on the Mohs' scale compared to other soil minerals.

    5.2 This test method has limitations as follows:

    5.2.1 If low carbonate contents (calcite equivalents) are measured, the user does not know whether the soil is low in carbonate content or contains cerrusite, witherite, and the like, which are carbonate species whose reactions with hydrochloric acid are either very slow or limited.

    5.2.2 Testing times may be extensive (longer than 1 hour) for some carbonate species (such as dolomite) if calcite equivalents within about 1 % are required.

    5.2.3 The effects of specimen grain size, duration of testing, pH and specimen mass are discussed in the literature.3

    Note 1The quality of the result produced by this standard is dependent on the competence of the personnel performing it, and the suitability of the equipment and facilities used. Agencies that meet the criteria of Practice D3740 are generally considered capable of competent and objective testing/sampling/inspection, etc. Users of this standard are cautioned that compliance with Practice D3740 does not in itself assure reliable results. Reliable results depend on many factors; Practice D3740 provides a means of evaluating some of those factors.

    1. Scope

    1.1 This test method covers the determination of carbonate content of soils and soft rock which can be readily broken down by mechanical effort. It is a gasometric method that uses a simple portable apparatus. Results should be clearly stated as the calcite equivalent in percent because different carbonate species cover a wide range of percent calcite equivalent as shown below for a number of carbonates:

    Species

    Cation

    Calcite
    Equivalent, %

    Magnesite

    Mg

    117.0

    Dolomite

    Ca, Mg

    108.6

    Calcite

    Ca

    100.0

    Aragonite

    Ca

    100.0

    Rhodocrosite

    Mn

    87.1

    Siderite

    Fe

    86.4

    Smithsonite

    Zn

    79.8

    Witherite

    Ba

    50.7

    Cerrusite

    Pb

    37.5


    For example, a 100 % dolomite would be expected to yield 108.6 % calcite equivalent while 100 % siderite would yield only 86.4 % calcite equivalent. Calcite and aragonite reactions will typically complete within about 10 minutes. This method does not distinguish between the carbonate species and such determination must be made using quantitative chemical analysis methods such as atomic absorption.

    1.2 Units—The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as the standard.

    1.3 All observed and calculated values shall conform to the guidelines for significant digits and rounding established in Practice D6026.

    1.3.1 The procedures used to specify how data are collected/recorded or calculated, in this standard are regarded as the industry standard. In addition, they are representative of the significant digits that generally should be retained. The procedures used do not consider material variation, purpose for obtaining the data, special purpose studies, or any considerations for the user's objectives; and it is common practice to increase or reduce significant digits of reported data to be commensurate with these considerations. It is beyond the scope of this standard to consider significant digits used in analytical methods for engineering design.

    1.4 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use. For specific precaution statements, see Section 8.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    C25 Test Methods for Chemical Analysis of Limestone, Quicklime, and Hydrated Lime

    D653 Terminology Relating to Soil, Rock, and Contained Fluids

    D3740 Practice for Minimum Requirements for Agencies Engaged in Testing and/or Inspection of Soil and Rock as Used in Engineering Design and Construction

    D4753 Guide for Evaluating, Selecting, and Specifying Balances and Standard Masses for Use in Soil, Rock, and Construction Materials Testing

    D6026 Practice for Using Significant Digits in Geotechnical Data

    E145 Specification for Gravity-Convection and Forced-Ventilation Ovens


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 13.080.10 (Chemical characteristics of soil)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code 11111501(Soil)


    DOI: 10.1520/D4373-14

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    ASTM D4373

    Citing ASTM Standards
    Back to Top