ASTM D3948 - 14(2018)

    СТАНДАРТНЫЙ МЕТОД ОПРЕДЕЛЕНИЯ ХАРАКТЕРИСТИК ВОДООТДЕЛЕНИЯ ТОПЛИВА ДЛЯ ТУРБОРЕАКТИВНЫХДВИГАТЕЛЕЙ С ПОМОЩЬЮ ПОРТАТИВНОГО СЕПАРОМЕТРА

    Active Standard ASTM D3948 Developed by Subcommittee: D02.J0.05

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.02


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 42 $75.00   ADD TO CART

    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D02.J0.05 Standards Related Products


    Significance and Use

    5.1 Данный метод испытаний служит критерием определения наличия поверхностно-активных веществ в топливе для турбореактивных двигателей. Наряду с Методами испытаний D2550 и D3602 данный метод позволяет обнаруживать следы уноса остатков нефтезаводской очистки в полученном топливе. Эти методы также позволяют обнаруживать поверхностно-активные вещества, добавленные в топливо или захватываемые топливом при перемещении его из пункта производства к пункту назначения. Определенные присадки также могут оказывать отрицательное влияние на номинальную характеристику. Некоторые из таких присадок влияют на способность фильтрующих сепараторов отделять свободную воду от топлива.

    5.2 Микросепарометр имеет диапазон измерения от 50 до 100 единиц. Величины, полученные вне этих пределов, являются неопределенными и недействительными. Для случая получения величины больше чем 100, существует большая вероятность того, что пропускание света уменьшится благодаря материалу, содержащемуся в топливе, используемом для установки 100 контрольного уровня. Материал затем убирался во время определения коалесцирующей части испытания, и, таким образом, обработанное топливо имело более высокое светопропускание, чем проба топлива, использованная для получения 100 контрольного уровня, что обуславливало конечное измерение номинальной характеристики свыше 100.

    5.3 Функция испытания сепарометра в режиме А дает приблизительно одинаковые характеристики для топлива Jet A, Jet A-1, MIL JP-5, MIL JP-7 и MIL JP-8, что и Методы испытаний D2550 и D3602. При использовании режима А номинальные характеристики водоотделения для топлива Jet B и MIL JP-4 необязательно окажутся эквивалентными Методу испытаний D2550, но будут иметь приблизительно ту же характеристику, что и Метод испытаний D3602. Все микросепарометры обладают способностью работать в режиме испытания А.

    5.4 Вариант режима испытания В используется для определения номинальных характеристик водоотделения топлива MIL JP-4, содержащего противокоррозионные и антиоблединительные ингибиторы топливных систем. Эти характеристики примерно соответствуют полученным при использовании Метода испытаний D2550.

    5.5 Выбор режима А или режима В зависит от конкретного топлива и требований спецификации к различным маркам топлива. В табл. 1 приводится рекомендуемый метод испытания для различных марок топлива.

    Таблица 1. Приемлемый режим испытаний для различных марок топлива

    5.6 Основное различие между режимами А и В — скорость потока, при которой водоэмульсионная смесь нагнетается в стандартный элемент стекловолоконного коагулятора. Время, требуемое для нагнетания эмульсии 7 через элемент коагулятора в режиме А, составляет 45 с ± 2 с, тогда как для режима В оно равно 25 с ± 1 с.

    1. Область применения

    1.1 Настоящий метод испытаний распространяется на портативное средство для полевого и лабораторного использования с целью определения способности топлива для турбореактивных самолетов выделять захваченную или эмульгированную воду при прохождении сквозь стекловолоконный коалесцирующий материал.

    1.2 Методическая часть данного метода испытаний содержит два различных режима работы испытательного оборудования. Главное различие между этими режимами заключается в скорости топливного потока, проходящего через стекловолоконный коалесцирующий материал. Выбор метода испытаний зависит от конкретного топлива, подлежащего испытанию.

    1.3 Значения, указанные в единицах СИ, должны рассматриваться как стандартные. Значения, указанные в скобках после единиц СИ, приведены только для информации и не считаются стандартными.

    1.4 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности, мер по охране здоровья и окружающей среды, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта.

    1.5 Данный международный стандарт был разработан в соответствии с международно-признанными принципами стандартизации, установленными Постановлением о принципах разработки международных стандартов, руководств и рекомендаций, выпущенным Комитетом по техническим барьерам в торговле (ТБТ) Всемирной торговой организации.

    2. Ссылочные документы

ASTM D3948 - 13

    Standard Test Method for Determining Water Separation Characteristics of Aviation Turbine Fuels by Portable Separometer

    Active Standard ASTM D3948 | Developed by Subcommittee: D02.J0.05

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.02


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 12 $49.00   ADD TO CART
    Hardcopy (shipping and handling) 12 $49.00   ADD TO CART
    Standard + Redline PDF Bundle 24 $58.80   ADD TO CART


    Significance and Use

    5.1 This test method provides a measure of the presence of surfactants in aviation turbine fuels. Like Test Methods D2550 and D3602, this test method can detect carryover traces of refinery treating residues in fuel as produced. They can also detect surface active substances added to or picked up by the fuel during handling from point of production to point of use. Certain additives can also have an adverse effect on the rating. Some of these substances affect the ability of filter separators to separate free water from the fuel.

    5.2 The Micro-Separometer has a measurement range from 50 to 100. Values obtained outside of those limits are undefined and invalid. In the event a value greater than 100 is obtained, there is a good probability that light transmittance was reduced by material contained in the fuel used to set the 100 reference level. The material was subsequently removed during the coalescing portion of the test, thus, the processed fuel had a higher light transmittance than the fuel sample used to obtain the 100 reference level resulting in the final rating measuring in excess of 100.

    5.3 Test Mode A function of the separometer will give approximately the same rating for Jet A, Jet A-1, MIL JP-5, MIL JP-7, and MIL JP-8 fuels as Test Methods D2550 and D3602. Using Mode A water separation characteristic ratings of Jet B and MIL JP-4 fuels will not necessarily be equivalent to Test Method D2550 but will give approximately the same rating as Test Method D3602. All Micro-Separometers have Test Mode A capability.

    5.4 The Test Mode B option is used to determine water separation ratings for MIL JP-4 fuels containing fuel system corrosion and icing inhibitors. These ratings are approximately the same as those obtained using Test Method D2550.

    5.5 Selection of Mode A or Mode B depends on the specific fuel and specification requirement. Table 1 identifies the recommended test method for various fuels.

    TABLE 1 Applicable Test Mode for Various Fuels

    Available Test Mode(s)

    Fuel

    Applicable Test Mode

    Jet A

    A

    Jet A-1

    A

    Jet B

    A

    MIL JP-5

    A

    MIL JP-7

    A

    MIL JP-8

    A

    MIL JP-4

    B


    5.6 The basic difference between Modes A and B is the flow rate at which the water/fuel emulsion is forced through the standard fiberglass coalescer cell. The lapsed time required to force the emulsion through the coalescer cell in Mode A is 45 ± 2 s, whereas, Mode B requires 25 ± 1 s.

    1. Scope

    1.1 This test method covers a rapid portable means for field and laboratory use to rate the ability of aviation turbine fuels to release entrained or emulsified water when passed through fiberglass coalescing material.

    1.2 The procedure section of this test method contains two different modes of test equipment operation. The primary difference between the modes of operation is the rate of fuel flow through the fiberglass coalescing material. Test method selection is dependent on the particular fuel to be tested.

    1.3 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as the standard. The values given in parentheses are for information only.

    1.4 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D1655 Specification for Aviation Turbine Fuels

    D2550 Method of Test for Water Separation Characteristics of Aviation Turbine Fuels

    D3602 Test Method for Water Separation Characteristics of Aviation Turbine Fuels

    D4306 Practice for Aviation Fuel Sample Containers for Tests Affected by Trace Contamination

    D7224 Test Method for Determining Water Separation Characteristics of Kerosine-Type Aviation Turbine Fuels Containing Additives by Portable Separometer

    D7261 Test Method for Determining Water Separation Characteristics of Diesel Fuels by Portable Separometer

    Military Standards

    MIL-T-38219 Turbine Fuel, Low Volatility, JP-7

    MIL-T-5624 Turbine Fuel, Aviation Grades JP-4, JP-5, and JP-5/JP-8 ST

    MIL-T-83133 Turbine Fuel, Aviation, Kerosene Types, NATO F34 (JP-8), NATO F-35, and JP-8+100


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 75.160.20 (Liquid fuels)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code 15101504(Aviation fuel)


    Referencing This Standard

    DOI: 10.1520/D3948

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    Citation Format

    ASTM D3948-13, Standard Test Method for Determining Water Separation Characteristics of Aviation Turbine Fuels by Portable Separometer, ASTM International, West Conshohocken, PA, 2013, www.astm.org

    Back to Top