ASTM D3278 - 96(2011)

    Стандартные методы определения температуры вспышки жидкостей с помощью малогабаритного прибора с закрытым тиглем

    Active Standard ASTM D3278 Developed by Subcommittee: D01.21

    Book of Standards Volume: 06.01


    Contact Jim S. Thomas for price quote.


    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D01.21 Standards Related Products


    1. Область применения

    1.1 Данные методы используются для определения вспышки/отсутствия вспышки материала при заданной температуре или для определения минимальной конечной температуры вспышки материала с помощью малогабаритного прибора с закрытым тиглем.2 Эти методы применимы для красок, эмалей, лаков, глазурей и родственных материалов, имеющих температуру вспышки между 0 и 110°C (32 и 230°F) и вязкость менее 150 Ст при 25°C (77°F).

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 1 — Возможны испытания при более высоких или более низких температурах.

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 2 — Более вязкие материалы могут испытываться в соответствии с Приложением A4.

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 3 — Органические перекиси могут испытываться в соответствии с Приложением A5, в котором описаны установленные меры безопасности.

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 4 — Министерство труда США (Управление охраны труда, оповещения об опасности /OSHA/), Министерство транспорта США (Администрация по исследованиям и специальным программам /RSPA/) и Управление по охране окружающей среды США /EPA/ в своих инструкциях указали Методы определения D 3278 в качестве одного из нескольких применимых методов для определения температуры вспышки жидкостей.

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 5 — Данные методы определения согласуются с Международными стандартами ISO 3679 и ISO 3680.

    1.2 Величины, указанные в единицах системы СИ, считаются стандартными. Величины, указанные в скобках, приведены только для информации.

    1.3 Данный стандарт следует использовать для измерения и описания реакции материалов, изделий или сборных конструкций на нагрев и воспламенение при контролируемых условиях, и не следует использовать для описания или оценки пожароопасности или огнеопасности материалов, изделий или сборных конструкций, возникающей при пожаре. Тем не менее, результаты испытания могут быть использованы в качестве элементов оценки пожарной опасности или пожарного риска, включающей все факторы, относящиеся к оценке пожарной опасности или пожарного риска при конкретном конечном использовании.

    1.4 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности и мер по охране здоровья, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта. Конкретные указания об опасности см. в п.8.1 и п.11.2.

    2. Ссылочные документы

    D1015 Test Method for Freezing Points of High-Purity Hydrocarbons

    D1078 Test Method for Distillation Range of Volatile Organic Liquids

    D56 Test Method for Flash Point by Tag Closed Cup Tester

    D850 Test Method for Distillation of Industrial Aromatic Hydrocarbons and Related Materials

    D93 Test Methods for Flash Point by Pensky-Martens Closed Cup Tester

    ISO3680 Paints, varnishes, petroleum and related products--Flash/no flash test--Rapid equilibrium method


    Ключевые слова

    вспышка/отсутствие вспышки; температура вспышки; органические перекиси; органические растворители; малогабаритный прибор с закрытым тиглем

ASTM D3278 - 96(2011)

    Standard Test Methods for Flash Point of Liquids by Small Scale Closed-Cup Apparatus

    Active Standard ASTM D3278 | Developed by Subcommittee: D01.21

    Book of Standards Volume: 06.01


    Buy Standard (PDF)
    8 pages
    $42.00
    Buy Standard (Print)
    8 pages
    $42.00

    Historical (view previous versions of standard)

    Translated Standard: Russian
    more info


    ASTM D3278

    Significance and Use

    Flash point is one of the properties used to define the flammability of a liquid. It is used to classify liquids according to their flammability by governmental regulatory agencies. It may also be used to determine the presence of impurities or contaminants in a given liquid, such as the presence of residual solvents in solvent-refined drying oils. See Test Methods D56 and D93 for alternate flash point testing.

    1. Scope

    1.1 These test methods cover procedures for determining whether a material does or does not flash at a specified temperature or for determining the lowest finite temperature at which a material does flash when using a small scale closed-cup apparatus. The test methods are applicable to paints, enamels, lacquers, varnishes, and related products having a flash point between 0 and 110°C (32 and 230°F) and viscosity lower than 150 St at 25°C (77°F).

    Note 1—Tests at higher or lower temperatures are possible.

    Note 2—More viscous materials may be tested in accordance with Annex A4.

    Note 3—Organic peroxides may be tested in accordance with Annex A5, which describes the applicable safety precautions.

    Note 4—The U.S. Department of Labor (OSHA, Hazard Communications), the U.S. Department of Transportation (RSPA), and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) have specified Test Methods D3278 as one of several acceptable methods for the determination of flash point of liquids in their regulations.

    Note 5—These test methods are similar to International Standards ISO 3679 and ISO 3680.

    1.2 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as the standard. The values given in parentheses are for information only.

    1.3 This standard should be used to measure and describe the response of materials, products, or assemblies to heat and flame under controlled conditions and should not be used to describe or appraise the fire-hazard or fire-risk of materials, products, or assemblies under actual fire conditions. However, results of the test may be used as elements of a fire-hazard or a fire-risk assessment which takes into account all of the factors which are pertinent to an assessment of the fire hazard or fire risk of a particular end use.

    1.4 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use. For specific hazard statements, see 8.1 and 11.2.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D56 Test Method for Flash Point by Tag Closed Cup Tester

    D93 Test Methods for Flash Point by Pensky-Martens Closed Cup Tester

    D850 Test Method for Distillation of Industrial Aromatic Hydrocarbons and Related Materials

    D1015 Test Method for Freezing Points of High-Purity Hydrocarbons

    D1078 Test Method for Distillation Range of Volatile Organic Liquids

    ISO Standards

    ISO3680 Paints, varnishes, petroleum and related products--Flash/no flash test--Rapid equilibrium method


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 13.220.40 (Ignitability and burning behaviour of materials and products); 87.040 (Paints and varnishes)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code 41116301(Flash point testers)


    DOI: 10.1520/D3278-96R11

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    ASTM D3278

    Citing ASTM Standards
    Back to Top