ASTM D2240 - 15e1

    Стандартный метод определения свойств резины — Измерение твердости дюрометром

    Active Standard ASTM D2240 Developed by Subcommittee: D11.10

    Book of Standards Volume: 09.01


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF 36 $75.00   ADD TO CART

    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D11.10 Standards Related Products


    Significance and Use

    4.1 Настоящий метод испытаний основан на проникновении индентора особого типа, который вдавливается в материал при заданных условиях. Твердость на вдавливание обратно пропорциональна глубине проникновения и зависит от модуля эластичности материала и его вязкоупругих свойств. Геометрическая форма индентора и прикладываемое усилие влияют на измерения таким образом, что не существует простой взаимосвязи между замерами, полученными на дюрометре одного типа и на дюрометре другого типа или на иных приборах для измерения твердости. Настоящий метод испытаний является эмпирическим и предназначен в первую очередь для контрольных целей. Не существует простого соотношения между твердостью на вдавливание, определенной по данному методу, и каким-либо фундаментальным свойством испытуемого материала. При составлении спецификаций рекомендуется использовать Метод испытаний D785 для материалов, не описанных в 1.1.

    1. Область применения

    1.1 Настоящий метод испытаний охватывает 12 типов приборов для измерения твердости резины, известных как дюрометры: A, B, C, D, DO, E, M, O, OO, OOO, OOO-S и R. В настоящем методе также описан порядок определения инденторной твердости материалов, классифицируемых как термопластовые эластомеры, вулканизаты (термореактивная резина), эластомерные материалы, пористые материалы, гелеобразные материалы, а также некоторые пластмассы.

    1.2 Настоящий метод не эквивалентен другим методам испытаний на инденторную твердость и другим типам приборов, в особенности тем, что описаны в Методе испытаний D1415.

    1.3 Настоящий метод не приемлем для испытания материалов с пленочным покрытием.

    1.4 Все материалы, приборы или оборудование, применяемые для определения массы, усилия или размеров, должны соответствовать требованиям Национального института стандартов и технологии или других международно-признанных организаций аналогичного профиля.

    1.5 Значения, указанные в единицах СИ, должны рассматриваться как стандартные. Значения в скобках приведены только для информации. Многие из указанных величин в единицах СИ получены прямым преобразованием из единиц традиционной системы США, чтобы соответствовать приборам, методикам и процедурам, существовавшим до принятия Акта о переводе в метрическую систему единиц от 1975 г.

    1.6 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности, мер по охране здоровья и окружающей среды, а также определение пределов применимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта.

    1.7 Данный международный стандарт был разработан в соответствии с международно-признанными принципами стандартизации, установленными Постановлением о принципах разработки международных стандартов, руководств и рекомендаций, выпущенным Комитетом по техническим барьерам в торговле (TBT) Всемирной торговой организации.

    2. Ссылочные документы

ASTM D2240 - 05(2010)

    Standard Test Method for Rubber Property—Durometer Hardness

    Active Standard ASTM D2240 | Developed by Subcommittee: D11.10

    Book of Standards Volume: 09.01


    Buy Standard (PDF)
    13 pages
    $48.00
    Buy Standard (Print)
    13 pages
    $48.00

    Historical (view previous versions of standard)

    Translated Standard: Russian
    more info


    ASTM D2240

    Significance and Use

    This test method is based on the penetration of a specific type of indentor when forced into the material under specified conditions. The indentation hardness is inversely related to the penetration and is dependent on the elastic modulus and viscoelastic behavior of the material. The geometry of the indentor and the applied force influence the measurements such that no simple relationship exists between the measurements obtained with one type of durometer and those obtained with another type of durometer or other instruments used for measuring hardness. This test method is an empirical test intended primarily for control purposes. No simple relationship exists between indentation hardness determined by this test method and any fundamental property of the material tested. For specification purposes, it is recommended that Test Method D785 be used for materials other than those described in 1.1.

    1. Scope

    1.1 This test method covers twelve types of rubber hardness measurement devices known as durometers: Types A, B, C, D, DO, E, M, O, OO, OOO, OOO-S, and R. The procedure for determining indentation hardness of substances classified as thermoplastic elastomers, vulcanized (thermoset) rubber, elastomeric materials, cellular materials, gel-like materials, and some plastics is also described.

    1.2 This test method is not equivalent to other indentation hardness methods and instrument types, specifically those described in Test Method D1415.

    1.3 This test method is not applicable to the testing of coated fabrics.

    1.4 All materials, instruments, or equipment used for the determination of mass, force, or dimension shall have traceability to the National Institute for Standards and Technology, or other internationally recognized organizations parallel in nature.

    1.5 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as standard. The values given in parentheses are for information only. Many of the stated dimensions in SI are direct conversions from the U. S. Customary System to accommodate the instrumentation, practices, and procedures that existed prior to the Metric Conversion Act of 1975.

    1.6 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D374 Test Methods for Thickness of Solid Electrical Insulation

    D618 Practice for Conditioning Plastics for Testing

    D785 Test Method for Rockwell Hardness of Plastics and Electrical Insulating Materials

    D1349 Practice for Rubber--Standard Temperatures for Testing

    D1415 Test Method for Rubber Property--International Hardness

    D4483 Practice for Evaluating Precision for Test Method Standards in the Rubber and Carbon Black Manufacturing Industries

    F1957 Test Method for Composite Foam Hardness-Durometer Hardness

    ISO Standard

    ISO/IEC17025:1999 General Requirements for the Competence of Testing and Calibration Laboratories


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 83.060 (Rubber)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code 41114611(Hardness testers)


    DOI: 10.1520/D2240-05R10

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    ASTM D2240

    Citing ASTM Standards
    Back to Top