ASTM D1747 - 09

    Стандартный метод определения коэффициента преломления вязких материалов

    Active Standard ASTM D1747 Developed by Subcommittee: D02.04

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.01


    Contact Jim S. Thomas for price quote.


    Historical Version(s) - view previous versions of standard

    Translated Standard(s): English

    ASTM License Agreement

    More D02.04 Standards Related Products


    1. Область применения

    1.1 Данный метод позволяет измерять с точностью до двух единиц в четвертом десятичном разряде коэффициенты преломления прозрачных и слегка окрашенных жидких и расплавленных углеводородов, имеющих коэффициенты преломления в диапазоне от 1,33 до 1,60 при температурах от 80 до 100 °C. Температуры ниже 80 °C также могут использоваться, но при условии, что точка плавления пробы минимум на 10°C ниже температуры испытаний.

    1.2 Данный метод неприменим, в пределах заявленной точности, для жидкостей, имеющих цвет темнее, чем Цвет No. 4 по ASTM, как это определено в Методе испытаний D 1500 для жидкостей, которые начинают интенсивно дымиться или испаряться при температуре испытаний, или для твердых тел, которые начинают плавиться при температурах в диапазоне 10°C от температуры испытаний.

    ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ 1 — Данный метод мог быть успешно использован для коэффициентов преломления выше 1,60, но поскольку сертифицированных эталонов жидкости для диапазонов выше 1,60 пока не существует, то точность измерений при этих условиях не оценивалась.

    1.3 Значения, выраженные в единицах СИ, считаются стандартными. Никакие другие единицы измерений в данный стандарт не включены.

    1.4 Осторожно — Ртуть признана Агентством по охране окружающей среды (EPA) и многими другими государственными агентствами как опасное вещество, которое может вызывать разрушение центральной нервной системы, почек и печени. Ртуть и её пары могут быть опасны как для здоровья человека, так и вызывать коррозию материалов. При обращении с ртутью и ртутьсодержащими продуктами следует соблюдать особую осторожность. За подробностями обратитесь к Перечню данных по безопасности материалов (MSDS), а за дополнительной информацией на веб-сайт EPA (http://www.epa.gov/mercury/faq.htm). Пользователь должен помнить, что продажа ртути или ртутьсодержащих веществ в каком-либо штате может быть запрещена законом этого штата.

    1.5 Данный стандарт не претендует на полноту описания всех мер безопасности, если таковые имеются, связанных с его использованием. Вся ответственность за установление соответствующих правил техники безопасности и мер по охране здоровья, а также определение пределовприменимости регламентов до начала использования данного стандарта, лежит на пользователе стандарта.

    2. Ссылочные документы

    D1500 Test Method for ASTM Color of Petroleum Products (ASTM Color Scale)

    D362 Specification for Industrial Grade Toluene

    D6299 Practice for Applying Statistical Quality Assurance and Control Charting Techniques to Evaluate Analytical Measurement System Performance

    D841 Specification for Nitration Grade Toluene

    E1 Specification for ASTM Liquid-in-Glass Thermometers

    E77 Test Method for Inspection and Verification of Thermometers


    Ключевые слова

    нефть; чистота; коэффициент преломления; рефрактометр; парафин

ASTM D1747 - 09

    Standard Test Method for Refractive Index of Viscous Materials

    Active Standard ASTM D1747 | Developed by Subcommittee: D02.04.0D

    Book of Standards Volume: 05.01


      Format Pages Price  
    PDF Version 6 $42.00   ADD TO CART
    Print Version 6 $42.00   ADD TO CART


    Significance and Use

    Refractive index is a fundamental physical property that can be used in conjunction with other properties to characterize pure hydrocarbons and their mixtures.

    The use of refractive index in correlative methods for the determination of the gross composition of viscous oils and waxes often requires its measurement at elevated temperatures.

    1. Scope

    1.1 This test method covers the measurement of refractive indexes, accurate to two units in the fourth decimal place, of transparent and light-colored viscous hydrocarbon liquids and melted solids that have refractive indexes in the range between 1.33 and 1.60, and at temperatures from 80 to 100°C. Temperatures lower than 80°C can be used provided that the melting point of the sample is at least 10°C below the test temperature.

    1.2 This test method is not applicable, within the accuracy stated, to liquids having colors darker than ASTM Color No. 4, ASTM color as determined by Test Method D1500, to liquids which smoke or vaporize readily at the test temperature, or to solids melting within 10°C of the test temperature.

    Note 1—The instrument can be successfully used for refractive indices above 1.60; but since certified liquid standards for ranges above 1.60 are not yet available, the accuracy of measurement under these conditions has not been evaluated.

    1.3 The values stated in SI units are to be regarded as standard. No other units of measurement are included in this standard.

    1.4 WarningMercury has been designated by EPA and many state agencies as a hazardous material that can cause central nervous system, kidney, and liver damage. Mercury, or its vapor, may be hazardous to health and corrosive to materials. Caution should be taken when handling mercury and mercury-containing products. See the applicable product Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) for details and EPAs website (http://www.epa.gov/mercury/faq.htm) for additional information. Users should be aware that selling mercury or mercury-containing products, or both, in your state may be prohibited by state law.

    1.5 This standard does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. It is the responsibility of the user of this standard to establish appropriate safety and health practices and determine the applicability of regulatory limitations prior to use.


    2. Referenced Documents (purchase separately) The documents listed below are referenced within the subject standard but are not provided as part of the standard.

    ASTM Standards

    D362 Specification for Industrial Grade Toluene

    D841 Specification for Nitration Grade Toluene

    D1500 Test Method for ASTM Color of Petroleum Products (ASTM Color Scale)

    D6299 Practice for Applying Statistical Quality Assurance and Control Charting Techniques to Evaluate Analytical Measurement System Performance

    E1 Specification for ASTM Liquid-in-Glass Thermometers

    E77 Test Method for Inspection and Verification of Thermometers


    ICS Code

    ICS Number Code 17.180.30 (Optical measuring instruments); 75.080 (Petroleum products in general)

    UNSPSC Code

    UNSPSC Code


    DOI: 10.1520/D1747-09

    ASTM International is a member of CrossRef.

    ASTM D1747

    Citing ASTM Standards
    Back to Top